2013 Mother’s Day Dash

It had been a few years since our family went to the Mother’s Day Dash in Vernon, Connecticut. This is a hometown race that we have done many times. Thanks to Wapack and Back being yesterday instead of today, we had the opportunity to race a 5K in Rockville.

2013_Mother's Day Dash 14

Unfortunately, the weather didn’t clear in time for my 45 minute ride to the race from Bolton and I was soaked to the bone when I arrived. I also took a little too long getting ready and arrived only six minutes before the start, and had to work hard to make it with that much time to spare.

2013_Mother's Day Dash 23

Debbie and the kids were also late arriving. I changed quickly while they registered us. The national anthem was played, and boom, we were off. Brian Nelson, the fastest guy in Vernon, posted a good time in the high-16’s. He was followed by the speedy masters runner, Brett Stoeffler, who took 1st in my age group in 17:24. I kept Brett in sight and periodically counted the seconds after he made a turn or passed a landmark, but I never gained any ground. I did earn my race fee back in the form of a $20 gift certificate to Rein’s Deli. That was nice!┬áKarina Johnson was the top woman in 19:03 despite running a track race last night.

2013_Mother's Day Dash 18

However, the highlight of the day was seeing our six-year old son complete the race without walking a step. I ran back to see them and did the last 1.5 miles alongside. Debbie, showing little muscle soreness after yesterday’s punishing 50 miler, pushed our daughter in the Chariot CX-1, which is increasingly rare but enjoyable. Our son earned the Tom Curtiss award for being the youngest finisher of the race. That was extra special for both his Mom and Dad, and the little runner was stoked.

2013_Mother's Day Dash 36

 

2013_Mother's Day Dash 1

My legs are starting to come around after a less than stellar start to the endurance sports season. At least I held off the 14 year-old and 11 year-old kids. These guys are trying very hard to make a 40 year-old look bad! I put my wet knickers back on and did another 90 minutes on the bike, taking a little longer route home. Mercifully, the rain stopped just before the start of the race and by the end of the awards ceremony, the sun was out. I took some of my favorite roads including Valley Falls Rd. and Spring St. It was nice to see other folks enjoying the improved weather conditions.

2013_Mother's Day Dash 48

 

 

At the Dash, it was great to see so many friends from Bolton, Vernon, Manchester, Tolland, Ellington, and the surrounding towns. This event is a fixture on the calendar and gets great sponsorship support and has a lot of history. I like the course. It has a little rise in it and the finish is a little kicker too. It’s been a full weekend of running in the Livingston household, which is just fine with the four of us.

Race Results

0 Responses to “2013 Mother’s Day Dash”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Livingston Photo & Word

Horst Engineering

Thread Rolling Inc.

Sterling Machine

Instagram

Blanking a "Key, Machine" on our newest rebuilt #brownandsharpe #ultramatic #screwmachine Made from AMS 6370 low alloy steel rectangular bar stock. For an aircraft engine. #horstengineering #aerospace #madeinusa Very cool. I actually got back in line after dinner to purchase some of the rooftop produce. Looks like banana peppers and tomatoes on top of my Hampton Inn oatmeal for breakfast!  #wholefoods @wholefoodsmarket Debbie leads the #boltonlandtrust Evening of #Yoga at #boltonlake #shavasana Here is the fiercest chick I know in a serene moment. This was just minutes before she slipped and sat in a mud puddle and all heck broke loose. Mercifully I was able to convince her to begin walking again. I know that I'll miss these days in the future. For now, I have to deal with the wrath of the 4-year old and cherish these moments. :) #justthebestfrommexico #cafenoche #mexico #carternotch @appalachianmountainclub Yet another rainy #hike !!!! #ramparts #carternotch @appalachianmountainclub #teamlivingston Yes, this dude rode a #unicycle up #mtwashington #mountwashington It took three tries to negotiate the final 22% grade which he is just starting in this image. The crowd was behind him all the way! #badass #mtwashington #mountwashington Fun ride. #teamhorstsports

Follow me on Twitter

Categories

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 123 other followers


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 123 other followers

