2013 New England Regional Cyclocross Championships

Yesterday’s New England Regional Cyclocross Championship was a chilly affair. The event was at Coolidge Park in Fitchburg, Massachusetts. The 35+ race wasn’t until 2:50 P.M., so the sun was getting really low in the sky when we started, and it was practically gone when we finished. The temperature was down in the low-30′s Fahrenheit and my feet were very cold.

2013_New England Cyclocross Championships 7

I drove up with teammate, Arthur Roti. Art had an awesome race and just missed cracking the top-15. He couldn’t close a gap on the last lap after a bobble in the sand pit. I didn’t have a very good race and came home in 23rd. These “masters” races are getting harder. The battle for the win came down to two former national champions.

2013_New England Cyclocross Championships 1

Mark McCormack got the win. He is a multi-time U.S. champion. Todd Bowden was second. He is a former Canadian national champion. I take consolation in that I was only 3:51 back. Oh well. Not bad. My last ride was at last Sunday’s cross race. If I’m going to get faster at cross, I’m going to have to make the time to train a bit more.

2013_New England Cyclocross Championships 4

Regardless, I’m having a blast with this. My Seven Mudhoney was again a beast of a machine. I love this bike. I rode most of the race in the big ring and chose to run the two uphill sections. There was no point in risking a fall when you are battling for 23rd place. Art and I did battle with the usual suspects. I was closing in on Keith Burgoyne on the last lap, but he held me off.

2013_New England Cyclocross Championships 6

 

Next up is the double at next weekend’s Verge Series race in Sterling, MA. If it’s cold like yesterday (and today), then I’m wearing my knee warmers!

Race Results

0 Responses to “2013 New England Regional Cyclocross Championships”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Livingston Photo & Word

Horst Engineering

Thread Rolling Inc.

Sterling Machine

Horst Spikes

Instagram

#delposto #manhattan #newyork #nyc @cnbc #cnbc #madmoney @ypowpo #ypo So cool! After a 15 year hiatus, I've got a #library card. I needed the kids to carry all the books, music and the #wine "course on CD." It was also my first time in the #bolton library despite driving by it nearly every day for the past 10 years. Little D gave me a tour. #heublein tower at the #newbritain Museum of American Art for the #connecticut Forest & Park Association Winslow Society launch meeting. #cfpa #blueblazedhikingtrails #blueblazedtrailrunning #bluetrails Photo doesn't do the nice view of #hartford and the northwest #connecticut hills justice. #horstengineering is on the east side of the river just below the train bridge. #a321 I've never seen so many people dressed in #chef outfits until today. This was just one classroom. There were 10 more at street level. #bonappetit Making #RodEnd Bodies for an aircraft engine. Milling the heads on a #CNC #verticalmachining center. #precisionmachining #sterlingmachine #horstengineering #madeintheusa A little (but important) Pin for an aircraft engine. This one is made from #Inconel and made complete on #CNC #Swiss #screwmachine It has a flat on the head and a small blind hole in the face. #sterlingmachine #precisionmachining #horstengineering #madeintheusa

Follow me on Twitter

Categories

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 134 other followers


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 134 other followers

