2013 Appalachian Mountain Club Photo Contest

I’m proud to say that I had a winning image in the 2013 Appalachian Mountain Club Photo Contest. I also had winning photos in 2011 and 2009. Each time you win, you have to sit out a year, so that is the only downside to having a photo selected. I’ll be on the sidelines for 2014, but that won’t stop me from hiking and shooting pictures.

2013_White Mountain Family Adventure 361

My photo of our daughter at Mizpah Spring Hut took first place in the “AMC in Action” category. Our July 2013 trip to the White Mountains was full of good images, but the “Packboard Banjo” shot was my favorite, and it’s never been posted until now.

It’s captioned: “This image of our daughter is from a post-Jackson pit-stop, our son’s first all self-powered 4000 footer. I’ve gotten great afternoon light through the windows of Mizpah on many occasions. I love the contrast of youth and history in this photo, and envision our kids wearing that packboard, years from now, when they are Croo.”

If you know the AMC and its history, there is a lot of symbolism in this image. 2013 was the 125th anniversary of our club’s hut system and we had a year-long celebration, so I’m even happier that my image was from a hut. I took the photo with my Leica M9 and Summilux-M, 1:1.4/35mm ASPH lens. ISO 320 was set and shutter speed was 1/60th. The M9 hasn’t been recording aperture (I think it should, though my early model is struggling with recording it), but it was probably F2.8 or F4.0. It’s not relevant.

Congratulations to all of the winners. I enjoy seeing everyone else’s work. I’m happy to say that my vote for the “People’s Choice Award Winner” was selected. What a cool rime ice photo. Check all of the great photos out.

1 Response to “2013 Appalachian Mountain Club Photo Contest”



Leave a Reply

Livingston Photo & Word

Horst Engineering

Thread Rolling Inc.

Sterling Machine

Instagram

Fish Family Farm Day to benefit the Lutz Children's Museum. #lutz #farm #cows #sevencycles @seven_cycles Good to be back on home soil! #vegas #bellagio #vegas Another delayed flight... #vegas #bellagio This has been one heck of a trip and it isn't over yet! A little Pacific #surf at #coronadelmar state beach. Our new Citizen A32 Swiss screw machine. First job: Making a few thousand Caps for an #aerospace application. #precisionmachining #horstengineering #madeinmexico #hooverdam #737 Got my second #x-Ray of the summer. This time it was whole body, not just my left foot...and it was free. #nogales There is always a first time for everything. I've never sweat so much at work! #insanity #beachbody workout #horstengineering #teamhorstsports

Follow me on Twitter

Categories

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 125 other followers


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 125 other followers

