Mac Attack!

Two weeks ago, I visited the Apple Store at Westfarms Mall in West Hartford, Connecticut, and I was smitten. I was blown away by the marketing panache, attention to detail, and customer service. I have been dreaming about an Apple Computer for some time now. I knew that when the time was right, I would take the plunge and migrate all of my photography and much of my writing, to a Mac. The trip to the Apple Store pushed me over the edge. On the drive home, I made the commitment that I was ready to make the investment of dollars and time to establish a new platform for my photo-journalism.

At work, we are dependent on a Microsoft Windows platform, with Exchange Server at the core. I am an Outlook addict and need the software to help run my busy personal, family, and business lives. Truthfully, they are all wrapped together, and my Dell D630, Treo 700W, and Exchange Server help me juggle it all. At Horst Engineering, the Windows Network and our ERP System, known as Shopmate, are critical business tools. I joked a while back that the IT folks at Horst would abandon me if I jumped ship and switched to the Apple side. I threatened this after a spate of Windows related crashes and during Dell’s long customer service slump. In my opinion, both Microsoft and Dell have suffered from their astronomical growth. Both organizations grew too fast and they lost their customer service focus. However, at Horst Engineering, we are committed and we need them to clean up their acts. So, I did our IT folks a favor…I bought an extended warranty and care package for my Mac. I’m handling this on my own!

After a week on my new Apple MacBook Pro, I am very pleased. I haven’t had any crashes (I’ve crashed my Dell once this morning already) and I have enjoyed exploring the machine’s capabilities. All of the computer gear helps, but I view them as tools. They help improve productivity, workflow, and they are time savers. After my visit to the Apple Store, I realized why that company is growing so much faster than the rest of the market. They have it figured out. Between their iPod product line, Mac’s, and now the iPhone, their creativity and service levels are unmatched.

0 Responses to “Mac Attack!”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Horst Engineering

Thread Rolling Inc.

Sterling Machine

Horst Spikes

Instagram

@trailrunningmom led another successful #Yoga at #Sunset for the #boltonlandtrust This year's venue was the #BoltonHeritageFarm It's been a tradition to move to a new spot each time. I got my first #cyclocross ride of the year in too! #yogini #yogi #shavasana Sightseeing on my second favorite road in #Connecticut #grassyhill #cycling #bicycle #sevencycles #horstengineering Camp was swell! @thecubscouts @boyscoutsofamerica #cubscouts #boyscouts #junenorcrosswebster I visited the new HQ of the @appalachianmountainclub that is under construction at 10 City Square in #Charlestown I had to ride by the #BunkerHill Monument at the end of the #FreedomTrail #Boston #sevencycles First time at the People's Forest Trail Race since 2011. This first image is the look of a dejected man who lost 25 minutes with a wrong turn on a big descent. That's costly in an 11 kilometer race. Even worse is that @trailrunningmom is the one who led him (and two other runners) off course! They survived. It was a nice day on the #FarmingtonRiver. #trailrunning #teamhorstsports #shenipsitstriders 🏃🏻⛰🏆 Another great #sunset at #windingtrails Two distant pre-swim thunderclaps turned the race into a #Duathlon which suited me just fine! It's nice to not come into T1 with a two minute deficit. #Triathlon #mountainbiking #trailrunning #teamhorstsports Once again, @trailrunningmom took the cookie prize for winning the special summit competition at the finish line of the #shenipsitstriders #SoapstoneAssault Here is a picture of a picture of myself taking a picture. @cwoodside59 put together a nice piece for the @ctforestandparkassociation quarterly. I'm looking forward to my next #carfreecommute #selfie #bicycle #windingtrails Kid's #Triathlon

Follow me on Twitter

Categories

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 282 other followers


