Dipsea History and Soapstone Inspiration

It isn’t too often that the Wall Street Journal writes about a trail running race, but The Dipsea Race isn’t an ordinary event. Friday’s Journal published a short story about the race and its long history. I’ve written about Dipsea in the past and hope to run it some day, though the trip to Marin County, California, would probably only be worth it for the Quad-Dipsea a longer version run on the same trail.

Dipsea has long been an inspiration to the Shenipsit Striders. I’m not sure what the genesis was or who was responsible, but the club runs it’s Soapstone Mountain Trail Race Sampler and Soapstone Assault races using a system based on the Dipsea handicap start format. The Sampler was run nearly three weeks ago and the Assault is on July 20th at 9:00 A.M. EDT. I’ll post the application when it is available next week.

I’ve always struggled with the Assault. Six trips up Soapstone Mountain is fine, but it is the five trips down that hammer my legs. On the other hand, the milder Sampler has been to my liking in the past. I’ve even got a 1st place rock to prove it. However, every time I think about the win, I feel guilty. I finished 2nd in 2001 and 2002. One time I was beaten by a 40-something male who had sizable head start (I had to start last). The 2nd time, I got beat by a teenager, again, who had a head start. In 2003, I was focused and trained for the 6km trail race. Again, I started in the last group, but this time I caught everyone. With about a 1/4 mile to go, I had the last runner in front of me, Dick Stoeffler, in my sights. Dick had been hanging around the top three for several years, also never getting the top rock. He was more than thirty years senior to me at the time (in his early 70’s I think) and I caught him to win. He was bummed. I’m still bummed, though first felt good at the time. I see Dick at all the trail races. He is often out there hiking and supporting his son, Brett.

Well, guilty or not. Dipsea has rewarded a lot of “seniors” over the years. This year 70 year old, Russ Kiernan, is a favorite to win. Let’s hope he wins Dipsea in honor of Dick.

2 Responses to “Dipsea History and Soapstone Inspiration”


  1. 1 sfrunner 7 June 2008 at 2:49 pm

    You’re right about trying to get into the Dipsea. I’ve tried several times with no success. And I went to high school in Mill Valley.

    The Double Dipsea is much easier to get into. It’s on Saturday, June 21.


  1. 1 2015 Soapstone Mountain Trail Races | Life Adventures Trackback on 17 May 2015 at 6:50 pm

Leave a Reply

Horst Engineering

Thread Rolling Inc.

Sterling Machine

Horst Spikes

Instagram

Sites and sounds from Day 2 @gpgloucester #gpgloucester The fog was burning off by the end of the Cub Juniors 9-14 year old race.

#horstspikes #cyclocross #lifedeathcyclocross #horstengineering #teamhorstsports #teamhorstjuniorsquad #madeinconnecticut #madeinnewengland #madeinusa 🇺🇸 It was great to see so many friends at today’s Western #Massachusetts Athletic Club Monroe (Dunbar Brook) Trail Race. We all ran the 2-Miler. We couldn’t stay long after the finish, but we did see Kelsey Allen win overall in the 10.5 Mile main event. Hooray! #trailrunning 🏃🏻 Before and after the Western #Massachusetts Athletic Club’s Monroe (Dunbar Brook) Trail Race in the #Berkshires I rode (very wet) over from Savoy Mountain State Forest where we camped last night. On the ride along the #DeerfieldRiver I checked out #ZoarGap and then we walked down to the river to see the Tooth. Sadly, the kayakers had already passed through. The foliage turned overnight. #trailrunning #cycling 🚴🏽🏃🏻⛰ #Cyclocross racing in the morning and downhill #mountainbiking @thundermountainbikepark in the afternoon. We got in two late afternoon runs on rental bikes and are pumped to return for more fun in the future. #teamhorstsports #teamhorstjuniorsquad #thundermountainbikepark #berkshireeast 🚵‍♀️⛰ 30 kids in the 9-12 year old Race at the #mansfieldhollow #Cyclocross That’s just awesome! @the_ccap #teamhorstsports #teamhorstjuniorsquad #crossspikes #crossisboss This image was from pregame, but approaching halftime @uconnfootball there aren’t many more fans than you see here. 35 (Memphis ) to 21 (UCONN) is a lot of points in 30 minutes of #football #uconn This morning I got to hear Warren Rustand, inspirational entrepreneur and fellow @ypoglobal member, speak at a #ypo Connecticut River Valley Chapter meeting. It was fitting that the event was @riverfrontrecapture and literally ON the #connecticutriver I walked from @horsteng via my favorite train bridge. The 10 minute trip back to the plant was ample time to reflect on the #leadership lessons that he shared with our group. @garyrome and I decided that we should memorialize our time with this dedicated athlete, by requesting that he join our photo. #horstengineering #business Fantastic but FRUSTRATING race at The Night Weasels Cometh #cyclocross Was charging hard but punctured with two to go and rode 3/4ths of a lap on my rear flat before getting to my pit bike. I just glued this tubular two nights ago. Grrrr! Gave up more than a dozen spots. This string of bad luck will end and my fitness will pay off. Still not a bad ending to a work day. Onward! #teamhorstsports #crossspikes #nightweasels 🚴🏽 🌕 Good, inspiring, and educational fun at #MetalStorm in Sudbury. I couldn’t find a salesman to sell me a lathe, but I called one on his mobile, and ended up with FOUR coming to my rescue! That’s service. ;) #precisionmachining #robotics #machining #instamachinist #cncmachining #cnc #aerospace #manufacturing #horstengineering #sterlingmachine #crossspikes #madeinconnecticut #madeinmassachusetts #madeinnewengland #madeinusa 🇺🇸

Follow me on Twitter

Categories

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 284 other followers


