San Diego

I’ve been back for a week, but I’m still catching up. I had a business trip that took me to San Diego, Tijuana, Tucson, Nogales, and back. I also hit airports in Baltimore and Atlanta. SD was mainly my gateway city to Tijuana. I was in SD only briefly, but had time for lunch with a friend in Old Town, a city run, a dinner in the Gaslamp Quarter, and a night at a waterfront hotel. All of that was packed into less than 24 hours. 

SD is a pretty historical place. It is quintessential Southern California with lots of sun and surf. There is some industry too. The aerospace industry hubs of Los Angeles and Long Beach have spread south to include San Diego, hence my visit to a customer who has operations across the Mexican border in Tijuana.

I told the concierge at the hotel that I wanted to run to Balboa Park. I knew that the Foot Locker National High School Cross Country Championships have been run there for years, so I figured it would be worth a look. Next to a bike, there is nothing like seeing a city on your feet. The concierge couldn’t believe that I wanted to run to the park. I had to get under/over the freeway a couple of times and she said, “it’s hilly.” I told her the hills weren’t a problem. She warned me, “It’s like San Francisco!” What a reference. No fear. I held back on explaining that anything less than 5,000 feet of elevation gain in a 10 mile run wasn’t really hilly. She saw me a couple hours later when I consulted her about finding some vegetarian fare. She didn’t believe I ran to the park, so I whipped out my camera with the digital proof. That brought a laugh to her coworkers. 

The best part of the run was on my way back when I got to watch some cool trains pass by and also took in the view of the airport from Little Italy. The big jumbos were zooming in for landing right over my head and it was a rush. I finished the run along the waterfront, checking out the fleet of boats (all historic) docked at the Maritime Museum of San Diego. My brief trip to SD was a nice diversion, but it is still SoCal, and I much prefer New England!

0 Responses to “San Diego”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Horst Engineering

Thread Rolling Inc.

Sterling Machine

Horst Spikes

Instagram

The @vermont50 Kids #trailrunning race @ascutneytrails 2.5 milers, 1.5 milers, and .5 milers. Great to see these kids #running on a HOT day! #vermont50 #vt502017 #vt50 @mount_ascutney #teamhorstsports ##teamhorstjuniorsquad #shenipsitstriders 🏃🏻⛰💪🏻🏆 The @vermont50 Kids #mountainbike race @ascutneytrails Little D used her #Cyclocross skills during a “rough” 1-Mile Race start. She has sharp elbows! Great to see these kids racing. #vermont50 #vt502017 #vt50 #mountainbiking @mount_ascutney #teamhorstsports #crossspikes #teamhorstjuniorsquad 🚵‍♀️⛰💪🏻🏆 My favorite #bicycle in a favorite spot. #carfreecommute #railtrail #supercommuter @seven_cycles #sevencycles @dillpicklegear #teamhorstsports 🚴🏽 A @boeing B-17G Flying Fortress "Heavy Bomber" flies over #hartford #connecticut #flyingfortress #aerospace #b17 #boeing #airplane ✈️ #bushnellparkcarousel #bushnellpark #hartford #connecticut When you ride through Chester, you have to use your #richardsachs #bicycle 🚴🏽 Trails to a Cure/Cockaponset Trail Race. #cockaponset #shenipsitstriders #teamhorstsports #teamhorstjuniorsquad #blueblazedtrail 👰🎩🎉 #love #gassonhall @bostoncollege #bostoncollege on the last day of August 2017. Last night, I rode from Kenmore Square to check out my #almamater and wait out the terrible "moving day" traffic. @bcclubcycling 🚴🏽

Follow me on Twitter

Categories

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 282 other followers


