Bolton Sunset Canoe & Kayak Race

Paddling the ~6 mile Bolton Sunset Canoe & Kayak Race has become a bit of a tradition for me. Bolton Lake in Bolton, Connecticut, is my “home court” when it comes to kayaking. Of course, I don’t kayak as much as I would like, so there is no real home court advantage. This past Wednesday night, the weather was fabulous for paddling. Unfortunately, I floundered as I fatigued over the course of the hour long event, and my typing has been impacted ever since!

Yeah, I know. Good paddling stroke/form means that you use your core and not your arms, but I don’t paddle enough to know what good form is. However, I am familiar with muscle pain and DOMS (delayed onset muscle soreness), that aching feeling you get two days later…

A good crowd of canoers and kayakers (do we have a rivalry?) showed up to spend time on the water together. Many of them are regulars on the NECKRA circuit. There were singles and there were tandems. I saw some nice boats. The racing class kayaks are like daggers and the racing canoes are like Kevlar/carbon fiber egg shells that seem to float across the water. Just amazing technology goes into the sleek designs. I’m every bit as impressed with them as I am with a great bicycle frame. Composites and hydrodynamics have really brought new technology to these designs. My boat (twice the weight) is pretty good, but geared more towards the ocean with bulkheads and storage for endurance events, so I was at a distinct disadvantage, especially when it came time to portage between the upper and lower ponds.

Whatever. I had also registered for the 4 mile race course, but paddled the 6, just for the fun of it. I was just enjoying being on the water. I had some fans, so that made the race go by a little quicker. They saw me once every 20 minutes. Not that exciting for them, but there was other stuff to see and do. My only regret is that I don’t get to paddle as much as I would like. It is a great upper body workout that balances all of the running and cycling. I likely won’t defend my Ironman title at the Great Josh Billings RunAground Triathlon this year, so I don’t have any water-sports to train for right now. Still, I plan to get out on Bolton Lake again soon. Just like the race, it is always best at sunset.

0 Responses to “Bolton Sunset Canoe & Kayak Race”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Horst Engineering

Thread Rolling Inc.

Sterling Machine

Horst Spikes

Instagram

@trailrunningmom shed no tears when thunder and lightning turned race 3 of the Winding Trails Summer #Triathlon Series into a #Duathlon #teamhorstsports #hardrock100 is only 96 miles more than the 4 miles she ran tonight with the five mile #mountainbike in between. #trailrunning #pursuitstrong #pursuitfitness Start of the @root66raceseries #DomnarskiFarm Junior 12-18 year old race. #root66raceseries #teamhorstsports #teamhorstjuniorsquad #mountainbiking #mountainbike Beautiful June day in #Massachusetts For me, the #westrocksuperprestige highlight is always the youngest junior girls and boys. Here is the start of last night's Junior 9-11 year old Short Track #mountainbike race. This is the next generation of #cycling enthusiasts. @the_ccap #teamhorstsports #teamhorstjuniorsquad #horstspikes #mountainbiking 🚵‍♀️🏆❤️ Not bad. Third place in the series for #singlespeed division after doing two of the four #westrocksuperprestige #mountainbike races. Fun just to ride strongly. #teamhorstsports #horstspikes @horsteng #mountainbiking @seven_cycles #sevencycles Incredible June night. One day after the #solstice for the #westrocksuperprestige finale. @the_ccap @horsteng #teamhorstsports #teamhorstjuniorsquad #mountainbiking #solstice #railtrail ride:  #teamhorstjuniorsquad #teamhorstsports #hopriverstateparktrail #mountainbike The second (our first) #windingtrails Summer Off-Road #Triathlon Series race of the year was a big success. Three Livingston's raced including @trailrunningmom and the first "Grand Feast" of the season with the Schulz Clan helped us refuel. #teamhorstsports #mountainbiking #trailrunning I ran the #greylocktrailrace on #fathersday and @trailrunningmom loosened her legs after #manitousrevenge by running the 5K with Little D. Shep took 5+ minutes off of last year's time. #mountgreylock The Western Massachusetts Athletic Club had to share #greylockglen with the #harrypotter festival, which was kind of crazy. It was a weird combination of people. I'm sticking with he  #trailrunning community. @trailrunningmom finished #manitousrevenge 54 miles in 14:41:32. Fantastic! She is pumped and primed for #hardrock100 next month. #teamhorstsports #shenipsitstriders #pursuitstrong #pursuitfitness #trailrunning @ultraspire #ultraspire @altrarunning #altrarunning #ultrarunning #catskillsmountains 🏃🏻⛰

Follow me on Twitter

Categories

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 279 other followers


