World Vegetarian Day

Tomorrow, October 1st, is World Vegetarian Day, and the kickoff to Vegetarian Awareness Month. We veggies should have the day off, but alas, it is only Wednesday, half way through the work week. Today, we say goodbye to the month of September and the third quarter. With three months left in 2008, the holiday season is kicking off with this ever important one. 

I don’t need to be any more aware of the benefits of vegetarianism, but I continue to learn more because I want to. Debbie was reading an excellent book to me this past weekend. Michael Pollan’s In Defense of Food isn’t just about vegetarianism, but it is about eating a predominantly plant based diet. We first heard about Pollan in an NPR story at the beginning of the year. He offers a scathing assessment of the average American’s eating habits and cites eating behavior and lack of exercise as two of the most significant costs to the US health care system. I agree. Every day, I’m disgusted by what I see and only hope that folks will have an epiphany. Pollan’s book will make you pay more attention to your own habits. This isn’t a new topic for me. I’ve written a lot about personal responsibility and nutrition. They actually do go together!

A while back, I commented about The China Study, another excellent read. Whereas Pollan doesn’t commit to full vegetarianism as a recommendation, the authors of The China Study, do recommend going vegan. That is the camp that I’m in and plan to stay. My only exception is that I eat the occasional local egg. So local, that it comes from a farmer on my street. I can’t say that I’ve gotten anyone else to join me in eating an exclusively plant based diet, but I know that I’ve influenced many to at least think about what they are putting in their mouths and where it might have come from.

0 Responses to “World Vegetarian Day”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Horst Engineering

Thread Rolling Inc.

Sterling Machine

Horst Spikes

Instagram

SO MANY AMAZING STORIES to tell after today’s 25th anniversary @vermont50 #vermont50 #vt50 #vt502017 It was a TOTAL sufferfest in record heat, but seeing so many friends persevere was inspiring. The volunteers were so good in challenging conditions. These images are just a sampling of the joy. #teamhorstsports #shenipsitstriders #teamhorstjuniorsquad #trailrunning #mountainbiking #ultrarunning 🚵‍♀️🏃🏻⛰🏆🍺 The @vermont50 Kids #trailrunning race @ascutneytrails 2.5 milers, 1.5 milers, and .5 milers. Great to see these kids #running on a HOT day! #vermont50 #vt502017 #vt50 @mount_ascutney #teamhorstsports ##teamhorstjuniorsquad #shenipsitstriders 🏃🏻⛰💪🏻🏆 The @vermont50 Kids #mountainbike race @ascutneytrails Little D used her #Cyclocross skills during a “rough” 1-Mile Race start. She has sharp elbows! Great to see these kids racing. #vermont50 #vt502017 #vt50 #mountainbiking @mount_ascutney #teamhorstsports #crossspikes #teamhorstjuniorsquad 🚵‍♀️⛰💪🏻🏆 My favorite #bicycle in a favorite spot. #carfreecommute #railtrail #supercommuter @seven_cycles #sevencycles @dillpicklegear #teamhorstsports 🚴🏽 A @boeing B-17G Flying Fortress "Heavy Bomber" flies over #hartford #connecticut #flyingfortress #aerospace #b17 #boeing #airplane ✈️ #bushnellparkcarousel #bushnellpark #hartford #connecticut When you ride through Chester, you have to use your #richardsachs #bicycle 🚴🏽 Trails to a Cure/Cockaponset Trail Race. #cockaponset #shenipsitstriders #teamhorstsports #teamhorstjuniorsquad #blueblazedtrail 👰🎩🎉 #love

Follow me on Twitter

Categories

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 282 other followers


