Hartford Marathon & Wickham Park Invitational

This past Saturday, within 15 minutes, I encountered two of Connecticut’s finest running events; and I wasn’t involved with either.

I was riding my bicycle to work on my normal route past Wickham Park in East Hartford and noticed a lot of school bus traffic. Cross country runners were pouring into Wickham for the 27th Wickham Park Invitational. Wickham Park has been the site of many cross country races over the years. The Invitational is usually a signal that the high school cross country season is ready to get serious. The early season dual meets have been run and the coaches are usually training their runners for a peak, just as the leaves on the trees start to fall.

In 1989, I was part of the East Catholic High School boys cross country team that used a so-so performance at this same race, as a launch pad towards our State Championship march. I remember our coach, Paul Hagerty, forcing us to train through this race (and the results showed), running hard both the week before and the week afterwards. At the race, we were terrible and still a few weeks away from getting it together. Fortunately, we did and when we returned to Wickham, we won the Class MM state title. A week after that, we took third place in the State Open, also at Wickham. That day saw the emergence of my teammate, Chris Ray, who won the individual title in a major upset over many other heavily favored runners. Conditions were atrocious with heavy rain and lots of mud on a sloppy course. I think it was that day that I learned to love conditions like that. Equally as impressive was another teammate, Dan Feehan, who finised 11th. I was like 54th. Our top five were all in the top 100 and the stunning success of Ray and Feehan made the difference. It was a glorious end to a cross country season. Those memories came back as I rode past Wickham Park on Saturday.

The other event I encountered my my ride to work, was the Hartford Marathon. This race has become one of the best marathons in the country. This year, it was run for the 15th time. Half marathon and 5km options are also offered for runners who want to go short and still get in on the vibe. Debbie has run the marathon distance race before. I’ve only done one road marathon, the Walt Disney World Marathon. That was 2004, and I have vowed to never run a road marathon again. It hurt way too much. I might make one exception, and one exception only. If I get the courage, I’ll do an Ironman Triathlon. Then, I’ll have to run 26.2 on the road again. Both Debbie and I just aren’t into running roads as much anymore. Neverthess, the Hartford Marathon is a cool event. We have a lot of friends who run Hartford and this year was no exception. There were notable performances from so many runners that we know. Part of the success was the spectacular weather. If anything, the temperature may have been a touch warm. I like it chilly. Nevertheless, I’m sure most of the runners weren’t complaining about the brilliant sunshine. The weather must have made for an awesome post-race atmosphere.

We even have friends, the Fargo’s, who had to divide and conquer. One runner did Hartford (Dad) and another did Wickham (Son). That’s awesome. It must have been a great day for running.

Hartford Marathon Results

0 Responses to “Hartford Marathon & Wickham Park Invitational”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Horst Engineering

Thread Rolling Inc.

Sterling Machine

Horst Spikes

Instagram

Little D passed her second of three #taekwondo #blackbelt tests. The third, and biggest, is in October. #tkd #sunset #md90 🌞✈️ #echoamphitheater #carsonnationalforest #newmexico Stopping to stretch our legs and use the potty was the best $2 I've spent in a while. I even borrowed a nickel from @trailrunningmom and got rid of the 95 cents in my pocket. Amazing #durango #colorado trails. These are the #HorseGulchTrails near @fortlewiscollege which has an amazing #cycling culture. When I raced collegiates @bcclubcycling & @bucycling in the early 90's, it wasn't anything like what's happening with the powerhouse @flccycling team. What an amazing backyard. Imagine rolling out of your dorm and onto this landscape. I would never go to class! Don't tell my kids I said that! #mountainbiking #cyclocross #teamhorstsports #teamhorstjuniorsquad #horstspikes 🚵‍♀️ @trailrunningmom finished in 41 hours and 1 minute. #hr100 #hardrock100 #shenipsitstriders #teamhorstsports #trailrunning #ultrarunning #womenofultrarunning @trailrunningmom  at the #hr100 #womenofultrarunning @trailrunningmom  at the #hr100 #womenofultrarunning @trailrunningmom left the Chapman Aid Station at 2:10 P.M. I paced her from Ouray (56.6 miles) to Chapman (82.2 miles). @ultramarathondan will take her to the finish of the @hardrock100 #hr100 #hardrock100 Most importantly, she is in good spirits and despite the altitude, is moving OK on the climbs, albeit slowly. As for the descents, her legs are trashed but she is still bombing them. Finish could be in the 40-42 hour range if all goes well. Who knows? Lots of variables! Fingers crossed. I have tons of photos to go through, so I selected one of our crew with Deb as she headed out for the final 18 miles. #trailrunning #ultrarunning #shenipsitstriders #teamhorstsports We finally reconnected with @trailrunningmom She arrived at Grouse Gulch, 42.2 miles at 8:33pm and departed at 8:50pm. She was soaked to the bone after climbing her first ever 14,000 foot peak. Handies had lots of hail and rain. She changed every piece of clothing and shoes and felt much better. The drive to/from was white knuckle insanity with our rental. @ultramarathondan is with her now. It will be a long night. I'll see her in Ouray. Our kids  have been awesome. Mom just wants to finish, but a long way to go. @hardrock100 #hr100 #hardrock100 #trailrunning #ultrarunning 🏃🏻⛰

Follow me on Twitter

Categories

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 282 other followers


