2009 Bimbler’s Bash Trail Race

The trail running season finally kicked off today. It was a long winter, but spring is here and the competition is underway. Normally our kickoff event is the Northern Nipmuck Trail Race, but that is next Saturday. This year, we got things going a bit earlier with the Bimbler’s Bash Trail Race in Guilford, Connecticut. This event was advertised as 10kish, but the GPS showed 7.5 miles. Not bad for the first race of the year. I actually got to finally run hard and it felt good. I was mildly concerned about the footing because Westwoods Trails in Guilford is known for its rocks and roots, but I stayed on my feet. This race had it all: short punchy uphills, screaming downhills, undulating rollers, some flats, boulder hopping, dirt roads, single-track, scree scrambles, and of course…mud.

Race Director, Jerry Turk, put on another fine event and a good sized field came out to support the race. We did his last race, the Bimbler’s Bluff 50K last October. This was shorter and over with a lot quicker. Jesse Efron won overall in a fine time of 53:41. Second was George Buchanan, and third was Charlie Iselin. Second through seventh places were only separated by 1:14. It was a tight race. I came home in 59:56, good for 6th place. I was happy to break the hour, especially since I was off course several times. There were lots of criss-crossing trails, various blazes on the trees, ribbons, and directional signs; but that just confused me. I got lucky more than once when the guy behind me knew the course.

After I finished, I ran to the car, grabbed my camera and a couple of lenses and headed back out on the course to capture some images.

2009_bimblers-bash-trail-race-9-version-2

2009_bimblers-bash-trail-race-10

Kerry Arsenault, wearing bib #1 on her home course, took top female honors in 1:05:22. She was followed by Megan Raymond and Megan Lehman. Debbie Livingston won the battle for fourth from Amy Sorenson and Mandy Bonz, who were hot on her heels. Debbie was also happy to kick off the season, but even happier to just be running in the woods. She was sporting her new Vasque US Trail Running Team kit.

2009_bimblers-bash-trail-race-367-version-2

The awards were Easter themed, with the exception of the one for “Best Blood.” Not sure who won that one. The weather was pretty good with bright sun and a cool breeze. The best part of the event was the bagpiper. He was stationed in the field near the finish line and you could hear him clearly during your last mile. It was great to hear the pipes blowing because you knew you were close to the finish. It seemed as if everyone who came out for the race had a good time. I guess you could say it was a bash!

2009_bimblers-bash-trail-race-13-version-2

Race Photos

Race Results

1 Response to “2009 Bimbler’s Bash Trail Race”



  1. 1 2014 Bimbler’s Bash | Life Adventures Trackback on 6 April 2014 at 2:47 pm

Leave a Reply

Horst Engineering

Thread Rolling Inc.

Sterling Machine

Horst Spikes

Instagram

#atl Starting the 2017 #trailrunning season in style...and on a Monday morning in the #caribbean to add to the fun! @trailrunningmom won the 13.8 mile #stjohntrailrace in 2:37. She wasn't far behind me. The @virginislandsnps trails were gnarly and it was hot. #teamhorstsports #shenipsitstriders @altrarunning #altrarunning @ultraspire #ultraspire @julbousa #julbousa #family #hiking #stjohnusvi @virginislandsnps #virginislandsnps Nice colors on our early A.M. flight. #md88 #JT8D #aerospace #sunrise ☀️ I'm pumped! I scored 47 vintage @appalachianmountainclub #Appalachia Journals (various issues between 1916-1979) with a #craigslist purchase. The process started with a #google Alert, and then after an email inquiry, followed by a text, and then a call; the terms were set. Hours later I pulled off the Mass Pike on my commute home from #sterlingmachine and did the deal in a commuter lot. I was fascinated by the seller's full time career in dealing ephemera and other collectibles. I'll add these to the stack of unread magazines, including the 10 boxes of vintage @natgeo magazines I scored years ago that @trailrunningmom keeps asking me where I plan to store them. We need more bookshelves. I've been getting Appalachia via mail twice/Year for 20 years and it has been published continuously since the #appalachianmountainclub founding in 1876. We wrapped up this snowy week with an afternoon #snowshoe "commute" to Little D's @girlscouts Brownie meeting and back. We are quite fortunate to have trails right out our front and back doors. #carfreecommute #boltonheritagefarm #rosefarm My favorite #denmother at the @thecubscouts Pack 157 Blue & Gold Dinner this past Friday. She even won the 50/50 raffle with one of these tickets. #cubscouts

Follow me on Twitter

Categories

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 268 other followers


