Phoenix–It’s Hot and Crowded

On my way home from Sonora, I opted to spend a night and a day in Phoenix, Arizona. I was going to take the red eye anyway, but it made sense to spend a night in Phoenix and visit various customers and suppliers. Phoenix is one heck of a metropolis. I just don’t get it. If it wasn’t for Willis Carrier’s invention of air conditioning, it just wouldn’t make sense to squeeze that many people into a city in the middle of a desert. A little cloud cover and drizzle kept the temperature from reaching the forecasted high of 104F.

With energy consumption and global warming among our country’s top priorities, it makes less sense than ever that people continue to flock to places like Arizona. I get a little frustrated when I see the expansion and impact on the environment. The whole growth of Arizona, particularly Phoenix, stemmed from a “California is too expensive” mindset. Sure, the weather, excepting the summer, is a great lure. So is, or was, the cheap land. But now, you have like four million people living in a place where there isn’t even enough water. Granted, in the Northeast, we need to burn oil and other fossil fuels to heat our homes in winter. Oh well.

I cruised the streets of Tempe after dark in my bright red Chevy Aveo. I haggled with Enterprise to get 28 hours of car time for the price of 24. As an experiment, I wanted the smallest and most economical car in the garage. That was the Aveo. I sure wouldn’t want to get rear ended in that little thing, but I drove all day for less than three gallons of fuel. Who needs hybrids? The Aveo retails for less than $12,000.

I checked out Tempe Town Beach. I’ve toyed with the idea of adding Ironman Arizona to my agenda. I was hoping to get up on Thursday morning and swim in Tempe Town Lake, the man made body of water that has been created from the Rio Salado. However, I learned from chatting up a local triathlete at the park on Wednesday night, that you can only swim on race day. They have a few other triathlons at that location, but IMAZ is the big one. My triathlete friend was a good resource. He had just finished a run, so I cornered him while he was stretching and picked his brain about the AZ tri scene. I’m having second thoughts about AZ. The venue just didn’t do it for me. After racing at picturesque Lake Placid, I’m not sure if I want to compete in dead flat Arizona’s concrete jungle. Both the bike and run courses are three laps, which is also not too appealing. We will see!

I covered a lot of ground during my Thursday in Phoenix. I visited seven customers and suppliers and pretty much explored all of industrial Phoenix south of the airport. I had to kill some time at the end of the day before my late night flight, so I explored the grounds of the Biltmore Hotel. It was very nice. I scored a free internet connection in the lobby and even got a free bottle of water from a sympathetic hotel worker. Don’t tell them…I wasn’t a registered guest.

The Biltmore Hotel grounds.

0 Responses to “Phoenix–It’s Hot and Crowded”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Horst Engineering

Thread Rolling Inc.

Sterling Machine

Horst Spikes

Instagram

@trailrunningmom shed no tears when thunder and lightning turned race 3 of the Winding Trails Summer #Triathlon Series into a #Duathlon #teamhorstsports #hardrock100 is only 96 miles more than the 4 miles she ran tonight with the five mile #mountainbike in between. #trailrunning #pursuitstrong #pursuitfitness Start of the @root66raceseries #DomnarskiFarm Junior 12-18 year old race. #root66raceseries #teamhorstsports #teamhorstjuniorsquad #mountainbiking #mountainbike Beautiful June day in #Massachusetts For me, the #westrocksuperprestige highlight is always the youngest junior girls and boys. Here is the start of last night's Junior 9-11 year old Short Track #mountainbike race. This is the next generation of #cycling enthusiasts. @the_ccap #teamhorstsports #teamhorstjuniorsquad #horstspikes #mountainbiking 🚵‍♀️🏆❤️ Not bad. Third place in the series for #singlespeed division after doing two of the four #westrocksuperprestige #mountainbike races. Fun just to ride strongly. #teamhorstsports #horstspikes @horsteng #mountainbiking @seven_cycles #sevencycles Incredible June night. One day after the #solstice for the #westrocksuperprestige finale. @the_ccap @horsteng #teamhorstsports #teamhorstjuniorsquad #mountainbiking #solstice #railtrail ride:  #teamhorstjuniorsquad #teamhorstsports #hopriverstateparktrail #mountainbike The second (our first) #windingtrails Summer Off-Road #Triathlon Series race of the year was a big success. Three Livingston's raced including @trailrunningmom and the first "Grand Feast" of the season with the Schulz Clan helped us refuel. #teamhorstsports #mountainbiking #trailrunning I ran the #greylocktrailrace on #fathersday and @trailrunningmom loosened her legs after #manitousrevenge by running the 5K with Little D. Shep took 5+ minutes off of last year's time. #mountgreylock The Western Massachusetts Athletic Club had to share #greylockglen with the #harrypotter festival, which was kind of crazy. It was a weird combination of people. I'm sticking with he  #trailrunning community. @trailrunningmom finished #manitousrevenge 54 miles in 14:41:32. Fantastic! She is pumped and primed for #hardrock100 next month. #teamhorstsports #shenipsitstriders #pursuitstrong #pursuitfitness #trailrunning @ultraspire #ultraspire @altrarunning #altrarunning #ultrarunning #catskillsmountains 🏃🏻⛰

Follow me on Twitter

Categories

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 279 other followers


