West Hill Shop (Putney) Cyclocross

Yesterday’s West Hill Shop Cyclocross Race was my 9th race on the classic Putney course. They have held the race 19 times, so the simple math says that I have missed 10 of them. After taking 2008 off from cyclocross, I’m happy to be back at it, even if it is just for fun. The Putney, Vermont race is one that I didn’t want to miss. It isn’t as large as it used to be and it doesn’t attract as many elite riders (because of competition from races outside of New England), but it still has the best vibe.

2009_West Hill Shop Cyclocross 4 - Version 2

The course is laid out around the bike shop, and through the surrounding woods and fields. The course has a classic run up and classic descent. The tight turns make for a fun and challenging loop. Plus, it is in Putney, VT. What could be better? It was a ho hum race for me. I just don’t have the speed for cross right now. I haven’t trained and I’m a bit worn out from the long season. Putney was my 31st race of the year, and with more cyclocross races, the Manchester Road Race, Santa’s Run, Scrooge Scramble and maybe another running race, I’ll be close to 40 by year-end.

Matt Domnarski

My body is sort of telling me to wind it down, but I’m doing cross just for fun. Manchester’s Thanksgiving Day Road Race is my last big objective, but it really isn’t an objective at all. I run it every year and haven’t trained for it in a long time.

With cyclocross, there is no pressure to perform, though when the starter yells, “Go,” I give it my all. I had two teammates in the race yesterday. Matt Domnarski, my shadow from last week, rode much stronger yesterday on the more technical West Hill Shop course. He was 13th in our field. Paul Nyberg was in the Masters 45+ race, but that didn’t stop him from starting a minute back with his field, and then catching me by the end of the race to finish at the same time.

Paul Nyberg

The owners of the West Hill Shop have done a nice job at upgrading the place while maintaining the charm of the classic store. The shop was packed with cool bike and ski items. If you are ever headed north on Interstate 91, take the time to stop at Exit 4. The shop is right off the exit ramp. You won’t regret the experience.

2009_West Hill Shop Cyclocross 38 - Version 2

0 Responses to “West Hill Shop (Putney) Cyclocross”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Horst Engineering

Thread Rolling Inc.

Sterling Machine

Horst Spikes

Instagram

@trailrunningmom led another successful #Yoga at #Sunset for the #boltonlandtrust This year's venue was the #BoltonHeritageFarm It's been a tradition to move to a new spot each time. I got my first #cyclocross ride of the year in too! #yogini #yogi #shavasana Sightseeing on my second favorite road in #Connecticut #grassyhill #cycling #bicycle #sevencycles #horstengineering Camp was swell! @thecubscouts @boyscoutsofamerica #cubscouts #boyscouts #junenorcrosswebster I visited the new HQ of the @appalachianmountainclub that is under construction at 10 City Square in #Charlestown I had to ride by the #BunkerHill Monument at the end of the #FreedomTrail #Boston #sevencycles First time at the People's Forest Trail Race since 2011. This first image is the look of a dejected man who lost 25 minutes with a wrong turn on a big descent. That's costly in an 11 kilometer race. Even worse is that @trailrunningmom is the one who led him (and two other runners) off course! They survived. It was a nice day on the #FarmingtonRiver. #trailrunning #teamhorstsports #shenipsitstriders 🏃🏻⛰🏆 Another great #sunset at #windingtrails Two distant pre-swim thunderclaps turned the race into a #Duathlon which suited me just fine! It's nice to not come into T1 with a two minute deficit. #Triathlon #mountainbiking #trailrunning #teamhorstsports Once again, @trailrunningmom took the cookie prize for winning the special summit competition at the finish line of the #shenipsitstriders #SoapstoneAssault Here is a picture of a picture of myself taking a picture. @cwoodside59 put together a nice piece for the @ctforestandparkassociation quarterly. I'm looking forward to my next #carfreecommute #selfie #bicycle #windingtrails Kid's #Triathlon

Follow me on Twitter

Categories

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 282 other followers


