Inside Business Report with Fred Thompson

Several weeks ago, I started getting messages on my work voicemail from Inside Business Report with Fred Thompson. They chased me hard. The person calling said it was important and that they wanted to feature Horst Engineering on their television show. It has become an instinct to instantly Google anything that I’m not familiar with. I typed the name of the show into the search field and tracked down their lame website.

I knew it was a scam from the get go. The host is Fred Thompson, but at the time, the site hadn’t been updated with fresh news in a month. I’m not sure whose pockets are getting lined with the income, but it was a weak pitch. Since I’m curious about these things, I phoned the “assistant to the producer.” He never gave more than his first name. He insisted that I set up a meeting with the producer to discuss Horst Engineering’s segment. So, I went along with it and set up a phone call.

The producer dialed me at the scheduled time and I listened to him go on and on about the value of the show and how many people watched it. I inquired how he found Horst Engineering. He told me that their “research analysts” tracked us down. He mentioned something about featuring manufacturing and that our story would be great for the show. So, knowing how much research they did to find us, I asked him what kind of manufacturing we did. He avoided the question and went on again about manufacturing in general. I cut him off at the knees by inquiring about their lousy website. He made some excuse about not updating it. So, knowing that this TV show was interested more in our money than our story, I asked him how much they were charging for Horst Engineering to be on the segment. He didn’t flinch. He said, “$19,000.” I simply said, please remove us from your calling list.

The funny part about the story is that the “assistant to the producer” must have mixed up his files. He called again this week, as if we had never spoken before. This time, I think he got the message.

6 Responses to “Inside Business Report with Fred Thompson”


  1. 1 redsox123 3 December 2009 at 5:01 pm

    Let me get this straight. You never did business with this companmy, you never visited their offices or studioes, you never spent more than 20 minutes on the phone with them but yet you have the nerve to write a blog calling them a scam? You have some nerve. My company was called by them as well and we decided to participate on the show and I can tell you that it has been a great experince and the Producers and staff at the studios are very professional and do a great job. I am all about free press but guys like you that decide to voice their personal opinions without experincing what the write bad things about is a HUGE dissapointment.

    Rick Kundret
    NuVim Inc
    Peramus N.J

  2. 2 Wayne 16 December 2009 at 2:23 pm

    A 122-word reply and 114 of the words are spelled and/or used correctly. Very nteresting.

    Where’s Peramus? Never heard of it. I have visited Paramus, and quite enjoyed it, but I can’t find the other town on a map.


  1. 1 make money from internet business. Trackback on 7 September 2014 at 7:06 pm
  2. 2 websites promoting followers Trackback on 3 January 2017 at 1:11 pm
  3. 3 business consultation services Trackback on 12 January 2017 at 6:19 am
  4. 4 seo company Trackback on 12 January 2017 at 6:25 am

Leave a Reply

Horst Engineering

Thread Rolling Inc.

Sterling Machine

Horst Spikes

Instagram

Little D passed her second of three #taekwondo #blackbelt tests. The third, and biggest, is in October. #tkd #sunset #md90 🌞✈️ #echoamphitheater #carsonnationalforest #newmexico Stopping to stretch our legs and use the potty was the best $2 I've spent in a while. I even borrowed a nickel from @trailrunningmom and got rid of the 95 cents in my pocket. Amazing #durango #colorado trails. These are the #HorseGulchTrails near @fortlewiscollege which has an amazing #cycling culture. When I raced collegiates @bcclubcycling & @bucycling in the early 90's, it wasn't anything like what's happening with the powerhouse @flccycling team. What an amazing backyard. Imagine rolling out of your dorm and onto this landscape. I would never go to class! Don't tell my kids I said that! #mountainbiking #cyclocross #teamhorstsports #teamhorstjuniorsquad #horstspikes πŸš΅β€β™€οΈ @trailrunningmom finished in 41 hours and 1 minute. #hr100 #hardrock100 #shenipsitstriders #teamhorstsports #trailrunning #ultrarunning #womenofultrarunning @trailrunningmom  at the #hr100 #womenofultrarunning @trailrunningmom  at the #hr100 #womenofultrarunning @trailrunningmom left the Chapman Aid Station at 2:10 P.M. I paced her from Ouray (56.6 miles) to Chapman (82.2 miles). @ultramarathondan will take her to the finish of the @hardrock100 #hr100 #hardrock100 Most importantly, she is in good spirits and despite the altitude, is moving OK on the climbs, albeit slowly. As for the descents, her legs are trashed but she is still bombing them. Finish could be in the 40-42 hour range if all goes well. Who knows? Lots of variables! Fingers crossed. I have tons of photos to go through, so I selected one of our crew with Deb as she headed out for the final 18 miles. #trailrunning #ultrarunning #shenipsitstriders #teamhorstsports We finally reconnected with @trailrunningmom She arrived at Grouse Gulch, 42.2 miles at 8:33pm and departed at 8:50pm. She was soaked to the bone after climbing her first ever 14,000 foot peak. Handies had lots of hail and rain. She changed every piece of clothing and shoes and felt much better. The drive to/from was white knuckle insanity with our rental. @ultramarathondan is with her now. It will be a long night. I'll see her in Ouray. Our kids  have been awesome. Mom just wants to finish, but a long way to go. @hardrock100 #hr100 #hardrock100 #trailrunning #ultrarunning πŸƒπŸ»β›°

Follow me on Twitter

Categories

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 282 other followers


