2010 Fat Tire Classic

Today, I rode the Fat Tire Classic at Winding Trails in Farmington, Connecticut. The race is part of the Root 66 Northeast XC Race Series. I’ve done the race many times and I like Winding Trails as a venue. The Cat 1 race was a four lap 20 mile leg burner that I did in 1:48:52. Despite yesterday’s rain, the course was mostly dry. Winding Trails has sandy soil, so it drains well. The one spot of mud was enough for the whole course. It came at the 4.5 mile mark on the lap and was a hub deep bog that you had to slog through.

I didn’t walk at all. I was able to ride the tricky and slippery steepest climb on the course every lap. Β I was really happy with my split times. My laps were 26:19, 27:08, 27:46, and 27:53. I didn’t slow nearly as much as in past years. The first lap is always faster because of all the riders. It gets harder when you are on your own and you have to push the pace without the pack.

This race is like a time trial, which is why I like doing it. It is a good training for the upcoming triathlons. I rode from Bolton on my road bike and Debbie and the kids met me at the venue. They brought my mountain bike and I switched up just in time for the start. They got some good numbers at the race today. It looked like a bigger field than last year. The weather was a mix of sun, clouds, and rain. It was a weird day on a weird weather weekend. It felt like Scotland, where the weather, especially in the early spring, is described as “changeable.”

I was joined by teammate, Art Roti, who had a good ride and also finished under two hours. The full results weren’t available when we left the race, but I know that we didn’t win…

My bike performed reasonably well. I had a few shifting issues. Next year, I would like to do this race on a 29er. It is the perfect course for the larger diameter wheels. Of course, I don’t have a 29er, so if I’m going to ride one, I’ll have to get one.

Race Results

0 Responses to “2010 Fat Tire Classic”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Horst Engineering

Thread Rolling Inc.

Sterling Machine

Horst Spikes

Instagram

#sunset #md90 🌞✈️ #echoamphitheater #carsonnationalforest #newmexico Stopping to stretch our legs and use the potty was the best $2 I've spent in a while. I even borrowed a nickel from @trailrunningmom and got rid of the 95 cents in my pocket. Amazing #durango #colorado trails. These are the #HorseGulchTrails near @fortlewiscollege which has an amazing #cycling culture. When I raced collegiates @bcclubcycling & @bucycling in the early 90's, it wasn't anything like what's happening with the powerhouse @flccycling team. What an amazing backyard. Imagine rolling out of your dorm and onto this landscape. I would never go to class! Don't tell my kids I said that! #mountainbiking #cyclocross #teamhorstsports #teamhorstjuniorsquad #horstspikes πŸš΅β€β™€οΈ @trailrunningmom finished in 41 hours and 1 minute. #hr100 #hardrock100 #shenipsitstriders #teamhorstsports #trailrunning #ultrarunning #womenofultrarunning @trailrunningmom  at the #hr100 #womenofultrarunning @trailrunningmom  at the #hr100 #womenofultrarunning @trailrunningmom left the Chapman Aid Station at 2:10 P.M. I paced her from Ouray (56.6 miles) to Chapman (82.2 miles). @ultramarathondan will take her to the finish of the @hardrock100 #hr100 #hardrock100 Most importantly, she is in good spirits and despite the altitude, is moving OK on the climbs, albeit slowly. As for the descents, her legs are trashed but she is still bombing them. Finish could be in the 40-42 hour range if all goes well. Who knows? Lots of variables! Fingers crossed. I have tons of photos to go through, so I selected one of our crew with Deb as she headed out for the final 18 miles. #trailrunning #ultrarunning #shenipsitstriders #teamhorstsports We finally reconnected with @trailrunningmom She arrived at Grouse Gulch, 42.2 miles at 8:33pm and departed at 8:50pm. She was soaked to the bone after climbing her first ever 14,000 foot peak. Handies had lots of hail and rain. She changed every piece of clothing and shoes and felt much better. The drive to/from was white knuckle insanity with our rental. @ultramarathondan is with her now. It will be a long night. I'll see her in Ouray. Our kids  have been awesome. Mom just wants to finish, but a long way to go. @hardrock100 #hr100 #hardrock100 #trailrunning #ultrarunning πŸƒπŸ»β›° With all this tracking technology, it's nice to see the old school method still in use. This is @hardrock100 #hr100 #hardrock100 HQ in #silverton #colorado #trailrunning #ultrarunning πŸƒπŸ»β›°

Follow me on Twitter

Categories

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 282 other followers


