Dave Blumenthal

I didn’t know Dave Blumenthal, but I feel like he shared my sense of adventure. Last week, when I first saw a headline about a Vermonter who was killed in the Tour Divide, an epic mountain bike race that goes from Banff, Alberta to Antelope Wells, New Mexico, I didn’t draw a connection. This tribute covers the basic facts.

It wasn’t until I went to the Green Mountain Club websiteย after my most recent post about our 2005 Long Trail hike, that I realized that Dave was a GMC board member, true adventurer, and a kindred spirit. He was also a LT End-to-Ender and a young father. He was also 37. How tragic. I ride my bicycle nearly every day and have had my share of close calls with motor vehicles. Like Dave, I also write extensively about my adventures.ย Though I just glanced at his blog for the first time, I hope it stays up so that I can read on. It is eery that he also has “adventure” in the title of his blog. Dave, ride on!

Leave a Reply

Horst Engineering

Thread Rolling Inc.

Sterling Machine

Horst Spikes

Instagram

Bolton Center School 4th Grade State Fair. #northdakota Late night #carfreecommute via the #hopriverstateparktrail #railtrail #bicycle Fantastic and "educational" @hookerbeer tour with @ypoglobal friends. #hookerbeer #beer #ypo #manufacturing #craftbeer #madeinhartford #madeinconnecticut ๐Ÿบ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ Start of this morning's 33rd annual #soapstonemountaintrailrace. @trailrunningmom warned the 225 runners that there are rocks and roots on the course. She then offered the patented #shenipsitstriders start line money back guarantee. #trailrunning ๐Ÿƒ๐Ÿปโ›ฐ #carfreecommute #burnsideavenue @horsteng #horstengineering #teamhorstsports #biketowork #biketoworkday #bicycle Broke out the #bridgestonemb1 and the #trailabike for a post-dinner Monday night #railtrail spin with the family. It's nice to have daylight at 8:00 P.M. #hopriverstateparktrail Little D at the #mothersdaydash 5K in Rockville. #shenipsitstriders #teamhorstsports #running @trailrunningmom doing her #trailrunning thing. He is learning the lines. He taught me a new saying after a particularly rugged, technical, and bouncy section. He said, "That was a serious chamois adjuster." #mountainbike #mountainbiking #teamhorstsports #teamhorstjuniorsquad

Follow me on Twitter

Categories

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 273 other followers


