Boy Scouts of America 100th Anniversary

Three Sunday’s ago, after the Keith Berger Memorial Criterium, I rode over to Rentschler Field in East Hartford, Connecticut. The Boy Scouts of America brought their Adventure Base 100 to town. I am very proud to be an Eagle Scout. I earned my Eagle badge in 1988. Scouts was a huge part of my youth and I credit the organization for helping me develop my leadership skills. I learned a whole lot more than leadership. Each merit badge was different and I loved learning new things.

Many of the adult leaders were a positive influence on my growth and development. I also made many friends in Scouts. Of course, one of the most important things that Scouts did for me was that it gave me a love of the outdoors and a respect for the environment. It introduced me to hiking, camping, backpacking, kayaking, rafting, bicycling, and so many other fun outdoor activities.

It enjoyed mywalk around the Adventure Base 100 that was set up in the parking lot at the Rentschler Field Cabela’s store. I saw enthusiastic boys and adult leaders having a good time and learning new stuff. I haven’t been active in the BSA for years. The organization struggles with its diversity initiatives and that has been an issue for me. I’m sure that politics, fundraising, and the source of the organization’s conservative values all play a role in the current policies. As a private organization, the BSA doesn’t have to worry about the “separation of church and state.” That doesn’t mean that the BSA isn’t doing good for the youth of our country. With this being the 100th anniversary of the Boy Scouts of America, it is important to salute the organization for all that it has done.

My son is still too young to be a Tiger Cub or Cub Scout, but in the next three years, he may have the opportunity to start his own “journey to Eagle.” I will have to revisit my current feelings the Boy Scouts of America when that time comes.

0 Responses to “Boy Scouts of America 100th Anniversary”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Horst Engineering

Thread Rolling Inc.

Sterling Machine

Horst Spikes

Instagram

Bolton Center School 4th Grade State Fair. #northdakota He said the highlight was learning about the @maahdaahhey100 and #maahdaahheytrail Now we have to ride it! Late night #carfreecommute via the #hopriverstateparktrail #railtrail #bicycle Fantastic and "educational" @hookerbeer tour with @ypoglobal friends. #hookerbeer #beer #ypo #manufacturing #craftbeer #madeinhartford #madeinconnecticut 🍺🇺🇸 Start of this morning's 33rd annual #soapstonemountaintrailrace. @trailrunningmom warned the 225 runners that there are rocks and roots on the course. She then offered the patented #shenipsitstriders start line money back guarantee. #trailrunning 🏃🏻⛰ #carfreecommute #burnsideavenue @horsteng #horstengineering #teamhorstsports #biketowork #biketoworkday #bicycle Broke out the #bridgestonemb1 and the #trailabike for a post-dinner Monday night #railtrail spin with the family. It's nice to have daylight at 8:00 P.M. #hopriverstateparktrail Little D at the #mothersdaydash 5K in Rockville. #shenipsitstriders #teamhorstsports #running @trailrunningmom doing her #trailrunning thing. He is learning the lines. He taught me a new saying after a particularly rugged, technical, and bouncy section. He said, "That was a serious chamois adjuster." #mountainbike #mountainbiking #teamhorstsports #teamhorstjuniorsquad

Follow me on Twitter

Categories

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 273 other followers


