Healthy Architecture: Dr. Art Mollen & Taliesin West

Last Wednesday, I had an unfortunate nasty nine-hour layover after my flight from Guaymas, Sonora and before my red-eye flight from Phoenix, Arizona to Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. It could have been bad, but it turned out great. I dreaded being trapped in an airport conference room for hours on end. Thankfully, I connected with some new friends and was invited to attend an event at Taliesin West in Scottsdale.

When I left Sky Harbor International Airport, I felt liberated! As I drove towards the McDowell Mountains, good memories returned. Debbie and I were last in Scottsdale exactly two years ago for the Javelina Jundred.

Taliesin West is the former “winter camp” of the famous architect, Frank Lloyd Wright. The 45,000 sq/ft home is a desert masterpiece and is now part of the non-profit Frank Lloyd Wright Foundation. The grounds were beautiful and made even nicer when they were bathed in the late afternoon sun. It was 90 degrees F when I arrived at Taliesin for the event.

We got a fabulous tour from a wonderfully enthusiastic guide. She walked us throughout the various buildings that make up the “home.” The artwork was fabulous. The stonework was amazing. All the wood and stone came from the 600 acre property that Wright had purchased for less than $13.00 an acre (average). Wow, what a spot! With the mountains as a backdrop, Taliesin blends right into the land, which is a signature of Wright’s architecture. I could say a lot more about what I learned on the tour (e.g. there is a fireplace in EVERY room), but I wouldn’t do it justice. You have to visit for yourself.

In the gift shop, I learned a bit more about Wright. One DVD playing on loop caught my eye. It was about the Solomon R. Guggenheim Museum in New York City, which Wright designed. Apparently, getting the museum built was a colossal struggle. It is now considered a masterpiece of architecture and was way ahead of its time.

I was smitten by Taliesin. It is a fabulous place to visit. The location was perfect for the speaker, Dr. Art Mollen, a noted Phoenix area physician, author, and athlete. Mollen is founder of the Mollen Clinic and several other ventures. I was so happy to hear someone speak about health and fitness from an all natural point of view. He isn’t big on medicines and he promotes healthy living and longevity by stressing three points. You have to have good habits and do these three things. I paraphrase:

1) Diet – healthy eating habits with low animal protein (e.g. meat, poultry, fish, dairy, etc.) intake.
2) Exercise – every day active aerobic movement.
3) Positive mental attitude – speaks for itself

This makes so much sense to me. I’m vegan, so I’ve got number one covered. I exercise every day, so two is taken care of. Three is probably the biggest struggle for me, but I think I’ve got it licked. Mollen cited a study he did of centenarians, people who have lived to 100 years-old or more. He learned so much from them. Speaking of centenarians, the New York Times did a nice piece on the milestone recently. I also read yesterday that the current record holder, an 114 year-old woman, passed away this week. RIP. Mollen also cited the China Study, which I have blogged about before and stresses how the Western diet is responsible for many of the diseases that shorten our lives (e.g heart disease, diabetes, etc.). Hearing Mollen speak was a pleasure.

Mollen is an active runner and triathlete, so he walks the talk. I’m going to track down one of his first books, which he said is fittingly titled: Run for Your Life.

So, on a beautiful evening, my hellish layover turned into a wonderful affair. Bravo.

Leave a Reply

Horst Engineering

Thread Rolling Inc.

Sterling Machine

Horst Spikes

Instagram

Not a bad way to cap the weekend. @patriots #nepatriots #patsgame #patriots 🏈 Two days of #crawfordnotch views sandwiched with @appalachianmountainclub meeting. Cycling on Rt. 302, #trailrunning on the Crawford Path, and Mount Willard. #newhampshire 🚴🏽🏃🏻⛰ Sites and sounds from Day 2 @gpgloucester #gpgloucester The fog was burning off by the end of the Cub Juniors 9-14 year old race.

#horstspikes #cyclocross #lifedeathcyclocross #horstengineering #teamhorstsports #teamhorstjuniorsquad #madeinconnecticut #madeinnewengland #madeinusa 🇺🇸 It was great to see so many friends at today’s Western #Massachusetts Athletic Club Monroe (Dunbar Brook) Trail Race. We all ran the 2-Miler. We couldn’t stay long after the finish, but we did see Kelsey Allen win overall in the 10.5 Mile main event. Hooray! #trailrunning 🏃🏻 Before and after the Western #Massachusetts Athletic Club’s Monroe (Dunbar Brook) Trail Race in the #Berkshires I rode (very wet) over from Savoy Mountain State Forest where we camped last night. On the ride along the #DeerfieldRiver I checked out #ZoarGap and then we walked down to the river to see the Tooth. Sadly, the kayakers had already passed through. The foliage turned overnight. #trailrunning #cycling 🚴🏽🏃🏻⛰ #Cyclocross racing in the morning and downhill #mountainbiking @thundermountainbikepark in the afternoon. We got in two late afternoon runs on rental bikes and are pumped to return for more fun in the future. #teamhorstsports #teamhorstjuniorsquad #thundermountainbikepark #berkshireeast 🚵‍♀️⛰ 30 kids in the 9-12 year old Race at the #mansfieldhollow #Cyclocross That’s just awesome! @the_ccap #teamhorstsports #teamhorstjuniorsquad #crossspikes #crossisboss This image was from pregame, but approaching halftime @uconnfootball there aren’t many more fans than you see here. 35 (Memphis ) to 21 (UCONN) is a lot of points in 30 minutes of #football #uconn This morning I got to hear Warren Rustand, inspirational entrepreneur and fellow @ypoglobal member, speak at a #ypo Connecticut River Valley Chapter meeting. It was fitting that the event was @riverfrontrecapture and literally ON the #connecticutriver I walked from @horsteng via my favorite train bridge. The 10 minute trip back to the plant was ample time to reflect on the #leadership lessons that he shared with our group. @garyrome and I decided that we should memorialize our time with this dedicated athlete, by requesting that he join our photo. #horstengineering #business

Follow me on Twitter

Categories

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 284 other followers


