2011 Mt. Greylock Trail Race

We had a fantastic day at the Mt. Greylock Trail Race. This race is a Father’s Day tradition for our family. Debbie has run it 12 times in a row and I’ve done it eight of the last 12 years. Debbie is only one week removed from running the Laurel Highlands Ultra, so she didn’t have any pressure to run fast. She cruised to a third place finish amongst the women in a time that was more than 14 hours slower than last week’s race. I don’t know how she does it! Greylock is one streak she doesn’t want to give up. She had one minor spill. She doesn’t have any big races until August, so I’m sure she is welcoming the break. She will focus on training.

I had a really good run. I toured the rugged 13.6+/- loop in 1:58:46, which is more than eight minutes faster than my previous best on the course. I was pleased with the initial three-mile ascent to the summit of Massachusetts’ highest peak. It took me just under 38 minutes and I didn’t walk at all. I knew that I had to set the tone for my race on the climb because I always struggle on the long 10+ mile gradual descent.

My GPS data has a good profile of the course. I was happy that I was able to get my heart rate up and hold hit there because I had a couple of training triathlons earlier this week that I didn’t hold back at. This has been a good stretch for me.

The Western Massachusetts Athletic Club (WMAC) had an incredible turnout. The picture perfect weather played a role. The short course 5K was practically overrun with participants. It was nice to see so many newbie trail runners enjoying the trails. The long course race was like a reunion with all kinds of New England trail runners showing up to test their legs on “Moby Dick.” The first woman was Amy Nolan in 2:07:07. 2nd was Beth Lines 2:10:55 and third was Debbie Livingston in 2:11:48. The first man was Greg Hammett in 1:42:15. He was followed by Kent Lemme in 1:49:20 and Rob Hult in 1:50:56.

After yesterday’s YPO event at Zoar Outdoor in Charlemont, our family camped at Savoy Mountain State Forest so we only had a short commute to the race this morning.  Greylock is one of those classic events. If we can make it in 2012, we will be there.

Race Results (will be posted when available)

2 Responses to “2011 Mt. Greylock Trail Race”


  1. 1 Bill Carew 22 June 2011 at 3:46 pm

    You and Deb are crazy!! < 2hrs??? It took me an hour to get up, and another 2+ to get down! And I'm not ashamed to admit that I walked a bunch. But you're right-it is a great day and the WMAC people are very welcoming and hospitable. I hope to get out to a couple more of their events this year.


  1. 1 2011 & 2012: Looking Back & Looking Ahead « Life Adventures Trackback on 5 January 2012 at 9:44 pm

Leave a Reply

Horst Engineering

Thread Rolling Inc.

Sterling Machine

Horst Spikes

Instagram

@bentwaterbrewing #bentwaterbrewing #pulpfiction #lynnlynnthecityofsin Overnight with @boyscoutsofamerica Troop 25 at the 4-H Camp in Pomfret. The toboggan run was hairy! I just watched. #boyscouts That moment when @trailrunningmom discovered that our longtime #Christmas Tree 🌲 supplier is a regular student in her #yoga class. They previously hadn’t recognized each other when not wearing #yogini gear. It was great to hear how our farmer has improved her strength and flexibility since she took over the business from her late husband. Note: preparing our menorah for #hannukah takes less work than this! Lovely December day for #Cyclocross at Goddard Park. @nbx_bikes #nbxcx @vittoriaseries #teamhorstsports #teamhorstjuniorsquad @horsteng #crossspikes #rhodeisland Lovely day for more than 130 #BoltonLandTrust members and friends at the annual Walk of #Thanksgiving #bolton #connecticut 🌲 #blackfriday didn’t start so badly! Great day at the #manchesterroadrace @shenipsitstriders #shenipsitstriders #silkcitystriders #teamhorstsports #thanksgiving 🏃🏻 If I always had the option to commute by train 🚂, I would take it. #multitasking 1h45m each way if uninterrupted productivity and NO driving. I even squeezed in a lap of #centralpark with Tim. 🏃🏻#manhattan #newyork Fir @john.meyerle because I neglected to post earlier: @supercross_cup This video is the Cat 4/5 Men. Great start for @the_ccap boys Nick and Johnny. #supercrosscx #teamhorstsports #teamhorstjuniorsquad #horstengineering #crossspikes @horsteng #cyclocross #lifedeathcyclocross

Follow me on Twitter

Categories

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 287 other followers


