2011 Chester 4 on the 4th Road Race

For 25 years, I have had a love affair with the quaint town of Chester, Connecticut. I thought I might live there, but in the end, we found another one of Connecticut’s 169 towns to our liking. Still, Chester occupies a spot on my list of favorite places. I love riding through Chester, and the occasional run is fun too. For 33 years, the town has hosted the Four on the Fourth Road Race. Debbie and I have run it many times. Some years I do it, some ย years we both do it, and like this year, some years, Deb does it.

We left the bigger of our two kids with our family in Old Lyme and made the short trip to Chester with our little one. It was great to break out the Chariot CX-1. That unit feels like a Porsche 911 Turbo compared with the CX-2 that we push and pull most of the time. I warmed up with Debbie on the course and then shot a lot of photos while cheering her and the other runners on. It was a “cool” weather race this year with the temperature in the mid-80’s Fahrenheit and high humidity. The race started at 9:00 A.M., rather than its usual time of 10:00 A.M.ย At the finish line, they had every one of the 33 race t-shirts hanging on a fence. It was a neat sight.

Debbie had a good run. She was 6th woman behind our friend, Becky Iselin. Debbie ran 27:30, though she claims 27:28, but what’s two seconds!? She isn’t used to running short races, especially on the road. This race has a great vibe and has become quite a tradition for us. We might miss it for a trip to the White Mountains or a huge national/international race, but not much else. If we are in Connecticut, we will do it. Hopefully, I will run again next year. I’ve had a busy stretch, so I opted not to push it. I did bring my bike and rode back to Old Lyme on some of my favorite roads, including Joshuatown in Lyme.

The women’s race was won by Maureen Terwilliger in a fast 24:35. She is a speedster. Melissa Stellato was second and Anne Campbell was third. The men’s race was no contest. Christopher Zablocki smoked the course in 20:25. He had more than 90 seconds on second place after 2.5 miles and finished more than two minutes clear of David Pugliese. Nick Walker was third. There were 706 finishers.

Race Results

Printroom Photos

2 Responses to “2011 Chester 4 on the 4th Road Race”


  1. 1 Christine Woodside 4 July 2011 at 10:49 pm

    Scott, I was there! I finished just ahead of the Vietnam vets who were chanting as they went up the hills. I’m not sure if I ever told you and Deb that my office is right there in downtown Chester, at 4 Water Street. It’s a great place to work, even though the internet quality reminds me of the mountains.


  1. 1 2017 Race Mania & Pursuit Athletic Performance Trail Running Camp | Life Adventures Trackback on 26 March 2017 at 9:46 pm

Leave a Reply

Horst Engineering

Thread Rolling Inc.

Sterling Machine

Horst Spikes

Instagram

Awesome Day 2 at the @the_ccap #Cyclocross Camp. #teamhorstsports #teamhorstjuniorsquad #horstspikes #crossspikes #googinscross #lifedeathcyclocross #crossiscoming ๐Ÿšด๐Ÿฝ Great ride with Tom. #teamhorstsports #madeinusa ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ Day one of the @the_ccap Junior #Cyclocross Camp was awesome. #horstspikes #teamhorstsports #teamhorstjuniorsquad #lifedeathcyclocross #crossiscoming @trailrunningmom led another successful #Yoga at #Sunset for the #boltonlandtrust This year's venue was the #BoltonHeritageFarm It's been a tradition to move to a new spot each time. I got my first #cyclocross ride of the year in too! #yogini #yogi #shavasana Sightseeing on my second favorite road in #Connecticut #grassyhill #cycling #bicycle #sevencycles #horstengineering Camp was swell! @thecubscouts @boyscoutsofamerica #cubscouts #boyscouts #junenorcrosswebster I visited the new HQ of the @appalachianmountainclub that is under construction at 10 City Square in #Charlestown I had to ride by the #BunkerHill Monument at the end of the #FreedomTrail #Boston #sevencycles First time at the People's Forest Trail Race since 2011. This first image is the look of a dejected man who lost 25 minutes with a wrong turn on a big descent. That's costly in an 11 kilometer race. Even worse is that @trailrunningmom is the one who led him (and two other runners) off course! They survived. It was a nice day on the #FarmingtonRiver. #trailrunning #teamhorstsports #shenipsitstriders ๐Ÿƒ๐Ÿปโ›ฐ๐Ÿ† Another great #sunset at #windingtrails Two distant pre-swim thunderclaps turned the race into a #Duathlon which suited me just fine! It's nice to not come into T1 with a two minute deficit. #Triathlon #mountainbiking #trailrunning #teamhorstsports

Follow me on Twitter

Categories

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 281 other followers


