2011 AMC Photo Contest

I had great success in the 2009 Appalachian Mountain Club Photo Contest, but had to sit out the 16th annual contest in 2010 because of my two winning images. I still shot a lot of AMC worthy photos in 2010, but I was ineligible. So, I made a “comeback” in 2011 and submitted the maximum 12 photos to the 17th annual contest. I’m excited to say that once again, I had a winning image, and it was one of my favorite shots of 2011.

My photo, “First Pitch,” took first place in the Kids, Adults, and Families Outdoors category. I entered three photos in each of the four AMC categories, but this category is my favorite because I love capturing images of our family adventures. The photo of Debbie and our daughter was from our fantastic trip to Vermont last August. We camped at Branbury State Park and went on an early morning hike. Our son was scrambling up the rocky trail and our daughter, who Debbie was carrying on her back, wanted to show that she could climb the rocks too.

I took the photo with my Leica M9 Digital body and Summilux-M 35 mm f/1.4 ASPH lens at ISO 500 and 1/125 shutter speed. I was stopped down pretty low, but don’t know the actual aperture setting. Unfortunately, Apple’s Aperture software doesn’t do a perfect job of collecting EXIF metadata from the M9. It was a warm, muggy, and overcast morning. We had a lovely hike and this image will always remind me of it.

The winning photos were published in this month’s AMC Outdoors magazine and are featured on the website and AMC Facebook page. All of the submissions can be viewed on the AMC Flickr page. Congratulations to all of the winners, and thank you to the three talented judges who liked my photo. The winning photographs are all inspiring and beautiful.

Leave a Reply

Horst Engineering

Thread Rolling Inc.

Sterling Machine

Horst Spikes

Instagram

Here is a picture of a picture of myself taking a picture. @cwoodside59 put together a nice piece for the @ctforestandparkassociation quarterly. I'm looking forward to my next #carfreecommute #selfie #bicycle #windingtrails Kid's #Triathlon Little D passed her second of three #taekwondo #blackbelt tests. The third, and biggest, is in October. #tkd #sunset #md90 🌞✈️ #echoamphitheater #carsonnationalforest #newmexico Stopping to stretch our legs and use the potty was the best $2 I've spent in a while. I even borrowed a nickel from @trailrunningmom and got rid of the 95 cents in my pocket. Amazing #durango #colorado trails. These are the #HorseGulchTrails near @fortlewiscollege which has an amazing #cycling culture. When I raced collegiates @bcclubcycling & @bucycling in the early 90's, it wasn't anything like what's happening with the powerhouse @flccycling team. What an amazing backyard. Imagine rolling out of your dorm and onto this landscape. I would never go to class! Don't tell my kids I said that! #mountainbiking #cyclocross #teamhorstsports #teamhorstjuniorsquad #horstspikes 🚵‍♀️ @trailrunningmom finished in 41 hours and 1 minute. #hr100 #hardrock100 #shenipsitstriders #teamhorstsports #trailrunning #ultrarunning #womenofultrarunning @trailrunningmom  at the #hr100 #womenofultrarunning @trailrunningmom  at the #hr100 #womenofultrarunning

Follow me on Twitter

Categories

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 283 other followers


