2012 Mt. Greylock Trail Race

Today was the Mt. Greylock Trail Race in Adams, Massachusetts. It is one of the oldest races in the New England Grand Tree Trail Running Series, and it is one of our favorite events. The proof is that Debbie has run it 14 years in a row and I’ve done it nine times. I’m not sure if we would miss it for anything. The fun family atmosphere at Greylock Glen is legendary and when you get phenomenal mid-June weather like we did today, well then it is magic.

The presence of Mt. Greylock, looming over the northwestern corner of the Berkshires is awesome. The Appalachian Trail goes over its summit for a reason. For centuries, Greylock has inspired people. Today was no different. The 13+ mile race goes straight up, paralleling the infamous Thunderbolt Trail on its way to the top. Three miles straight up with a killer average gradient. It took me 38 minutes to get to the tower. Then, you wind your way all the way back to the Glen.

The trails are rugged and rocky. It wasn’t too wet today. I got my third best time (1:59:36). I didn’t have the easiest week leading up to the race, and I didn’t want to push too hard because I have some triathlons coming up that I’m more focused on. I hadn’t run full tilt on trails since the Soapstone Mountain Trail Race last month. I pushed hard enough, especially in the last mile, when I realized I was closing to breaking the two-hour barrier. After the 7-mile mark when I had a mini-battle with NipMuck nemesis Ryan Welts, before he took off, and I ended up in no-man’s land. I ran the final six miles on my own with no one to chase. I had to run a six-something final mile on the trail to do it and it worked out.

I even wore my ankle braces, which I hadn’t donned in more than two years. I twisted my left ankle last weekend running on the Laurel Highlands Hiking Trail, so I figured it was smart to take every precaution. I had one crazy fall that left me with a banged up left knee, covered in dirt, and off the trail upside down in the woods. After I picked myself up, I mentioned to a passing runner that I now had something to spice up my blog post.

Debbie is amazing. Only one week removed from her incredible 70.5 mile Laurel Highlands Ultra, she managed to run only 10 minutes off of my pace and finished third woman behind the wicked fast Kelsey Allen (2:00:31) and the ever-improving Kristina Folcik (2:09:15). From what I hear, Kristina and Debbie (2:09:55) had a pretty good battle. Neither of them were on fresh legs today, but they were all smiles, like many of the other 200+ runners.

On the men’s side, Marc Robaczynski blew away the field with a 1:37:15. That is smoking fast. The next runner, Derck Jakoboski was nearly eight minutes back (1:45:04). Third was Rob Hult (1:45:22).

On Father’s Day, it was nice to have my mother-in-law, Barbara Schieffer, along for the day to help with our two kids. The Glen is a great place to hang out. We saw a lot of old friends. Debbie noted that Greylock is like a homecoming of sorts. Curt Pandiscio was running his 18th in a row. Todd Brown is in the teens. He has also done many Mt. Washington Road Race/Mt. Greylock Trail Race doubles, like he did this weekend.  The long time WMAC members were out in force. The volunteers were great, as usual. There was a lot to see, with hang gliders and paragliders soaring off of the mountain and landing not far from the Glen.

Debbie’s coach, Al Lyman, made the trip up from southern Connecticut to run the short course (3 miles) and to interview Debbie about Laurel, her recovery, and what’s next. Greylock will most certainly be in our future plans.

Race Results (will be posted when available)

3 Responses to “2012 Mt. Greylock Trail Race”


  1. 1 Angelo Radano 18 June 2012 at 11:56 am

    Nice post. I am very new to trail running – 3rd race and 1st half marathon – but it was an awesome day and I am sure to come back next year. My son had a blast hanging out in the glen, very family friendly I am looking forward to seeing my official finish time.


  1. 1 Local Racing at it’s Best! « Life Adventures Trackback on 20 June 2012 at 10:16 pm
  2. 2 The 40/40 at the Baystate Cyclocross « Life Adventures Trackback on 25 November 2012 at 7:01 pm

Leave a Reply

Horst Engineering

Thread Rolling Inc.

Sterling Machine

Horst Spikes

Instagram

Bolton Center School 4th Grade State Fair. #northdakota Late night #carfreecommute via the #hopriverstateparktrail #railtrail #bicycle Fantastic and "educational" @hookerbeer tour with @ypoglobal friends. #hookerbeer #beer #ypo #manufacturing #craftbeer #madeinhartford #madeinconnecticut 🍺🇺🇸 Start of this morning's 33rd annual #soapstonemountaintrailrace. @trailrunningmom warned the 225 runners that there are rocks and roots on the course. She then offered the patented #shenipsitstriders start line money back guarantee. #trailrunning 🏃🏻⛰ #carfreecommute #burnsideavenue @horsteng #horstengineering #teamhorstsports #biketowork #biketoworkday #bicycle Broke out the #bridgestonemb1 and the #trailabike for a post-dinner Monday night #railtrail spin with the family. It's nice to have daylight at 8:00 P.M. #hopriverstateparktrail Little D at the #mothersdaydash 5K in Rockville. #shenipsitstriders #teamhorstsports #running @trailrunningmom doing her #trailrunning thing. He is learning the lines. He taught me a new saying after a particularly rugged, technical, and bouncy section. He said, "That was a serious chamois adjuster." #mountainbike #mountainbiking #teamhorstsports #teamhorstjuniorsquad

Follow me on Twitter

Categories

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 273 other followers


