2012 Amica 19.7 Triathlon Ocean Beach

I kicked off Sunday with my third triathlon since Tuesday. I could have done four this week, but three was enough. This was the third time that I’ve done the Amica 19.7 Triathlon Ocean Beach in New London, Connecticut. I really like the course. All three legs are enjoyable.

The 1/2 mile swim is in the ocean, which I prefer to murky ponds. The current wasn’t very strong, and the waves were small. The 16 mile bike is on a beautiful course in New London and Waterford. There are lots of twists and turns along with a few hills. The 5 kilometer run is along the water in a nice New London community. On a hot day, it was good to start the race at 7:00 A.M. and be packed up by 9:00 A.M.

Last year, I had a rough race. There was a t-storm before the start. I got kicked in the face during the swim. I punctured a tire on the bike course. This year had no drama, though my legs weren’t as fresh as I would have liked. The Pat Griskus Sprint on Wednesday was my “A race,” so this was just for fun.

Tim Steiskal had a fine race to take the win. He was 3rd at Griskus, but got his victory today. He had a crazy fast swim. Apparently, that is his strength because that is where he put most of his time into me. I chatted with him after the race. The kid is getting faster. Β With some more speed on the run leg, he will be winning a lot of races. He was followed by Zachary Yannes and Joseph Turcsanyi. The women’s field was led by Elaina Mertins. She was followed by Addy Danaher and Shaina Short.

Garret Henchcliffe beat me by less than a minute at the Litchfield Hills Triathlon last month, and it was the same story today. He took the 40-44 division by staying in front of me the whole way. I just couldn’t close the gap on the run, though coming up Ocean Avenue, I could see him the whole way, less than 1/4 mile up the road. There was a slight headwind on the return leg and I didn’t run as well as I did on Wednesday. Oh well!

I saw the usual gang of friends along the boardwalk in New London. The weather was great. I had a good battle with another rider during the second half of the bike, but I was in no-man’s land on the run. All in all, this was a great week of summer triathlon. The fun continues at Winding Trails on Tuesday.

After stopping off in Old Lyme, I returned to Niantic later in the day to do a loop of the Owegatchie Hills Nature Preserve. A friend was visiting from California, so he rented a bike from Niantic Bay Bicycles and we spent part of the afternoon together on these tricky trails. It was a blast.

Aside from Winding Trails, I’ve got a big week ahead support Debbie with her running.

Race Results

1 Response to “2012 Amica 19.7 Triathlon Ocean Beach”


  1. 1 Dosti Khan 18 July 2012 at 1:12 am

    its great event I wish we should have event like this here in Pakistan ,,,,wishing you good luck ,Greetings from Pakistan


Leave a Reply

Horst Engineering

Thread Rolling Inc.

Sterling Machine

Horst Spikes

Instagram

@trailrunningmom led another successful #Yoga at #Sunset for the #boltonlandtrust This year's venue was the #BoltonHeritageFarm It's been a tradition to move to a new spot each time. I got my first #cyclocross ride of the year in too! #yogini #yogi #shavasana Sightseeing on my second favorite road in #Connecticut #grassyhill #cycling #bicycle #sevencycles #horstengineering Camp was swell! @thecubscouts @boyscoutsofamerica #cubscouts #boyscouts #junenorcrosswebster I visited the new HQ of the @appalachianmountainclub that is under construction at 10 City Square in #Charlestown I had to ride by the #BunkerHill Monument at the end of the #FreedomTrail #Boston #sevencycles First time at the People's Forest Trail Race since 2011. This first image is the look of a dejected man who lost 25 minutes with a wrong turn on a big descent. That's costly in an 11 kilometer race. Even worse is that @trailrunningmom is the one who led him (and two other runners) off course! They survived. It was a nice day on the #FarmingtonRiver. #trailrunning #teamhorstsports #shenipsitstriders πŸƒπŸ»β›°πŸ† Another great #sunset at #windingtrails Two distant pre-swim thunderclaps turned the race into a #Duathlon which suited me just fine! It's nice to not come into T1 with a two minute deficit. #Triathlon #mountainbiking #trailrunning #teamhorstsports Once again, @trailrunningmom took the cookie prize for winning the special summit competition at the finish line of the #shenipsitstriders #SoapstoneAssault Here is a picture of a picture of myself taking a picture. @cwoodside59 put together a nice piece for the @ctforestandparkassociation quarterly. I'm looking forward to my next #carfreecommute #selfie #bicycle #windingtrails Kid's #Triathlon

Follow me on Twitter

Categories

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 282 other followers


