2012 Silk City Cyclocross

Today, autumn and cross season kicked off in fine style at the Silk City Cyclocross in Manchester, Connecticut. You can’t beat a local race in a neighboring town and its even better when you ride to and from the venue. The 75 degree Fahrenheit temperature and deep blue sky was awesome.

The EXPO Wheelmen did a fantastic job with this race. They really went over the top with this one. Experiencing the great vibe brought back memories from all of those years when our team put on the Frank-N-Horst Cyclocross in Keene, New Hampshire and the Connecticut Riverfront Cyclocross in Hartford. The host club first put this race on in 2011, but their first date was a snow out  because of the freak October snowstorm that dumped 18 inches on Manchester and made driving treacherous. They regrouped and had a race later in the season, but it was a low-key affair.

This year, the race grew up big time. There were multiple categories including a kid’s race that was packed. The awards were very cool and generous. There were lots of refreshments and there was a lot going on at the start/finish. The Horst Engineering Cycling Team had a strong presence. Andris Skulte kicked things off for us in the morning race. Then, our 45+ riders were all over the results with Matt Domnarksi, Paul Nyberg, and Pat Cunningham all in the top 10. Matt took 2nd spot on the podium with a nice ride on the technical course at Manchester Community College.

We spent the day with the Roti Family and all the kid’s spent time on their bikes. The two boys did the race and had a blast. I did the 35+ race along with teammates Art Roti and Wade Summers. We were all in the top 10, with Wade leading the way in 3rd. I had a better race than expected.

The 48 minute anaerobic effort is a bit different from what I’ve been doing with all of the triathlon and the longer events, but it was good to get cross season started. The cramping was disappointing. It’s the second time in three weeks that my legs have cramped at a race. My calves are still smarting from the beating they took at the Survival of the Shawangunks.

I’ve got a break from cross next week when we head north for the Vermont 50 Mile Ride & Run, but I’ll be back at it in October. My legs were pretty good until the last lap. Going up the first steep climb, which was rideable, my quads cramped badly. I had to back off or risk a total seize-up. I had been as high as 4th, but had already faded back to 7th, so I just nursed my legs to the finish. I was also able to ride the third climb, but the I chose to ride the 2nd steep hill and test out my Horst Spikes.

I hadn’t been on my Seven Tsunami since the Detour de Connecticut back in April, but this week, I got glued new rubber on to my wheels, re-taped my handlebars, and spruced it up for the season. It was good to get a race under my belt, stay upright, and I’m looking forward to the rest of the season and some more autumn-like weather. The course was actually dusty and sandy in spots. We could use some rain. Today, it still felt like summer.

We hung out and watched several other categories race, including a competitive women’s field. Again, kudos to the EXPO Wheelmen for promoting this race and designing an excellent course. On the ride home, I rode up to Fish Family Farm to meet up with the kids and Debbie who stopped for a little post-race treat. It was a nice day.

Race Results

1 Response to “2012 Silk City Cyclocross”



  1. 1 2013 at 9:43 am Trackback on 19 July 2013 at 4:41 am

Leave a Reply

Horst Engineering

Thread Rolling Inc.

Sterling Machine

Horst Spikes

Instagram

Little D passed her second of three #taekwondo #blackbelt tests. The third, and biggest, is in October. #tkd #sunset #md90 🌞✈️ #echoamphitheater #carsonnationalforest #newmexico Stopping to stretch our legs and use the potty was the best $2 I've spent in a while. I even borrowed a nickel from @trailrunningmom and got rid of the 95 cents in my pocket. Amazing #durango #colorado trails. These are the #HorseGulchTrails near @fortlewiscollege which has an amazing #cycling culture. When I raced collegiates @bcclubcycling & @bucycling in the early 90's, it wasn't anything like what's happening with the powerhouse @flccycling team. What an amazing backyard. Imagine rolling out of your dorm and onto this landscape. I would never go to class! Don't tell my kids I said that! #mountainbiking #cyclocross #teamhorstsports #teamhorstjuniorsquad #horstspikes 🚵‍♀️ @trailrunningmom finished in 41 hours and 1 minute. #hr100 #hardrock100 #shenipsitstriders #teamhorstsports #trailrunning #ultrarunning #womenofultrarunning @trailrunningmom  at the #hr100 #womenofultrarunning @trailrunningmom  at the #hr100 #womenofultrarunning @trailrunningmom left the Chapman Aid Station at 2:10 P.M. I paced her from Ouray (56.6 miles) to Chapman (82.2 miles). @ultramarathondan will take her to the finish of the @hardrock100 #hr100 #hardrock100 Most importantly, she is in good spirits and despite the altitude, is moving OK on the climbs, albeit slowly. As for the descents, her legs are trashed but she is still bombing them. Finish could be in the 40-42 hour range if all goes well. Who knows? Lots of variables! Fingers crossed. I have tons of photos to go through, so I selected one of our crew with Deb as she headed out for the final 18 miles. #trailrunning #ultrarunning #shenipsitstriders #teamhorstsports We finally reconnected with @trailrunningmom She arrived at Grouse Gulch, 42.2 miles at 8:33pm and departed at 8:50pm. She was soaked to the bone after climbing her first ever 14,000 foot peak. Handies had lots of hail and rain. She changed every piece of clothing and shoes and felt much better. The drive to/from was white knuckle insanity with our rental. @ultramarathondan is with her now. It will be a long night. I'll see her in Ouray. Our kids  have been awesome. Mom just wants to finish, but a long way to go. @hardrock100 #hr100 #hardrock100 #trailrunning #ultrarunning 🏃🏻⛰

Follow me on Twitter

Categories

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 282 other followers


