2012 Manchester Road Race

Another Manchester Road Race is in the books. It was my 18th year in a row running this 4.748 mile classic. That is only 32 behind Amby Burfoot, who just tied the record (with Charlie “Doc” Robbins) after completing his 50th in a row. This is my 22nd or 23rd overall. I am missing some records.

On a glorious day fully of sunshine and unseasonable warmth, I ran my slowest time since 2008, but couldn’t really expect much more given my preparation. I’m content knowing that my family and friends were close by; and we were joined by 15,000+ other runners and more than 30,000 spectators. It was an awesome day in Manchester. Three of our clubs, the Shenipsit Striders, Silk City Striders, and Hartford Extended Area Triathletes were well represented.

We haven’t had bad weather on Thanksgiving in quite some time. I’m not complaining, though the occasional tempest makes for a bit more excitement. The weather brought out the runners today. It was congested.

Aaron Braun won in an awesome 21:19, tying the record set by Phillimon Hanneck in 1995. Haron Lagat of Kenya, a past winner, finished second in 21:31 and local runner, Donn Cabral, the Olympic steeplechaser from Glastonbury was third in 21:33.

Delilah DiCrescenzo won the women’s race in 24:34. Lisa Uhl was second in 24:39 and Diane Nukuri-Johnson was third 24:46.

My time was somewhere around 27:25. My GPS said 27:28, but that is unofficial. My heart rate was an average of 184, which is better than last weekend’s cyclocross races when I had trouble getting it up to that level. My peak was 191, not bad for a 40-year-old dude. I doubt I’ll see 204 like I used to back 15 years ago.

Debbie had a good run and kept her under 35 minute seed card for 2013. We will be back. I told her that I’m making this an A race next year and I’m going to run more and do some speedwork in the build up. That should make the difference. I want to see 26 something on the clock when I cross the line. Having goals are key to success. I just reset mine for MRR.

Last night, we went to the spaghetti dinner and met a bunch of great runners. The elites were out in force. We met Amby Burfoot, who spoke fondly with his MRR love affair. In addition to running the race 50 times in a row, he won it 9 times between 1968 and 1977. He also won the 1968 Boston Marathon. The honorary chairperson was Deena Kastor, a past winner and Olympic bronze medalist. She was in attendance with her husband and young daughter. They are staying with our friends the Kennedy’s, right here in Bolton.

Race Results

7 Responses to “2012 Manchester Road Race”


  1. 1 Kathy Manizza 22 November 2012 at 10:23 pm

    I decided to train next year too. :-) Ave HR 185, Max 194. LOL I’m not sure that’s a good thing, but we definitely know how to work hard. :-)
    Happy Thanksgiving!

  2. 2 George Zack 22 November 2012 at 11:10 pm

    Nice. Fond memories of that race. Max today was 185.

  3. 3 kristin miller (@mrsmillersmiles) 24 November 2012 at 8:48 am

    I looked for Kastor everywhere! I’ve run 8 in 11 years, missing it only because of a broken toe, bronchitis and a kidney infection (I have to be on my death bed to miss it!). I hope to get seeded next year because it was more crowded than ever. Can you recommend more CT running blogs? I’m having a hard time finding any! Kristinmcauliffe.blogspot.com

  4. 4 danikennedy 24 November 2012 at 6:25 pm

    Deena was not running. She was on the press truck. She was a gracious and giving honorary chair person and spent Sun-Thurs all-MRR all the time.

    This was my 20th consecutive MRR and my 33:23 was a PR. I had to back way off on my training in the last few weeks due to a few injury issues, so I wasn’t sure what to expect. Maybe having an Olympic medalist in your kitchen on race day morning offering encouragement helps since 53 years of age is pretty old to be setting PR’s. Alternatively, maybe I was sandbagging mid-30′s through my 40′s. My 50′s have been faster.

    I didn’t wear my HRM, but Kathy and I are usually pretty similar. According to most “experts” we are having heart attacks most races.

    First mile was 6:19. Second was 8:00. Only at MRR can I fluctuate that much and still come back with a decent last 2.75. No matter how many times I run it, I still hate the Main Street section. It goes on FOREVER.

  5. 5 Brian Jones 27 January 2013 at 6:39 pm

    i am looking for the results of the 1985 manchester road race.
    any idea if they are online anywhere


  1. 1 The 40/40 at the Baystate Cyclocross « Life Adventures Trackback on 25 November 2012 at 7:01 pm
  2. 2 2012 Scrooge Scramble « Life Adventures Trackback on 26 December 2012 at 6:58 am

Leave a Reply

Livingston Photo & Word

Horst Engineering

Thread Rolling Inc.

Sterling Machine

Categories

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 110 other followers


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 110 other followers

