2012 Scrooge Scramble

Today was the last “race” of the year for me, and it was a fun one. 42 others preceded it. The Scrooge Scramble has become a tradition and a favorite. Today’s 21st edition was extra special. Our six-year old did his first 5K. He runs kid’s cross-country races, cyclocross races, mountain bike races, and mini triathlons, but he really hadn’t run more than a mile until today.

2012_Scrooge Scramble 68

Despite a little snow and freezing rain, he was determined, which was very cool. The four of us had a lot of fun bringing up the rear (or close to it) of the 83+/- person field. Debbie pushed our three-eyar old daughter in the stroller. More than $2,100 was raised for The Cornerstone (Vernon Community Health Center) in Rockville, Connecticut.

2012_Scrooge Scramble 20

We saw many of our friends from the Shenipsit Striders and Silk City Striders. The days of pushing our little boy in the Chariot are long gone. He said, “I’m too big.” So, he ran instead, which is fine with us. Though next time, we have to remember to bring extra socks. We had extra shoes, but we were missing the socks!

2012_Scrooge Scramble 38

Many thanks to Todd Brown for bringing the 1985 and 1992 Manchester Road Race results with him. He has been traveling to races with them for the past three months, upon my request for help. A few years ago, I started a research project to determine how many Thanksgiving Day MRR’s I’ve run. I was missing several years of results, so I spent an evening at the Manchester library researching old Hartford Courant’s and Journal Inquirer’s on microfilm.

2012_Scrooge Scramble 56

I couldn’t locate two years in the archives. Todd came through. I confirmed that I didn’t run the 1992 edition, but I did run 1985, which was my first. My official total is 23, including the last 18 in a row.

2012_Scrooge Scramble 48

I had a blast going through the results this afternoon. I recognized so many names. It was amazing to think that this was more than 27 years ago. I had just turned 13, was running cross-country for Vernon Center Middle School and this was my first non-school competitive race. Today’s co-race director, Janit Romayko, was in front of me in the results, and I recognized the names of so  many people I know, including several others who ran Scrooge today.

2012_Scrooge Scramble 63

Things sort of came full circle for me today. I couldn’t think of a better way to spend a Christmas morning. I ran with my family, ran with my son in one of his first road races, and found the results from one of my first races. For me, that 1985 Manchester Road Race is more than 800 races ago, and it has been quite an adventure!

2012_Scrooge Scramble 103

Race Results

0 Responses to “2012 Scrooge Scramble”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Horst Engineering

Thread Rolling Inc.

Sterling Machine

Horst Spikes

Instagram

Day one of the @the_ccap Junior #Cyclocross Camp was awesome. #horstspikes #teamhorstsports #teamhorstjuniorsquad #lifedeathcyclocross #crossiscoming @trailrunningmom led another successful #Yoga at #Sunset for the #boltonlandtrust This year's venue was the #BoltonHeritageFarm It's been a tradition to move to a new spot each time. I got my first #cyclocross ride of the year in too! #yogini #yogi #shavasana Sightseeing on my second favorite road in #Connecticut #grassyhill #cycling #bicycle #sevencycles #horstengineering Camp was swell! @thecubscouts @boyscoutsofamerica #cubscouts #boyscouts #junenorcrosswebster I visited the new HQ of the @appalachianmountainclub that is under construction at 10 City Square in #Charlestown I had to ride by the #BunkerHill Monument at the end of the #FreedomTrail #Boston #sevencycles First time at the People's Forest Trail Race since 2011. This first image is the look of a dejected man who lost 25 minutes with a wrong turn on a big descent. That's costly in an 11 kilometer race. Even worse is that @trailrunningmom is the one who led him (and two other runners) off course! They survived. It was a nice day on the #FarmingtonRiver. #trailrunning #teamhorstsports #shenipsitstriders 🏃🏻⛰🏆 Another great #sunset at #windingtrails Two distant pre-swim thunderclaps turned the race into a #Duathlon which suited me just fine! It's nice to not come into T1 with a two minute deficit. #Triathlon #mountainbiking #trailrunning #teamhorstsports Once again, @trailrunningmom took the cookie prize for winning the special summit competition at the finish line of the #shenipsitstriders #SoapstoneAssault Here is a picture of a picture of myself taking a picture. @cwoodside59 put together a nice piece for the @ctforestandparkassociation quarterly. I'm looking forward to my next #carfreecommute #selfie #bicycle

Follow me on Twitter

Categories

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 281 other followers


