Connecticut State Parks Centennial

Today, I swung by the Connecticut State Capitol in Hartford to celebrate the centennial of the State Park system and meet with several groups who volunteer to support the various parks. The Connecticut Forest & Park Association and Friends of Connecticut State Parks collaborated to draw attention to our state’s incredible park resources. Connecticut is blessed with an incredible number of parks and greenways. Look at this list!

2013_State Parks Centennial Celebration 3

CFPA is pushing for every state legislator to adopt a park. With so many budget cuts affecting the Department of Energy & Environmental Protection (DEEP), the “Friends” groups are advocating against further cuts to park resources. The corridor between the Capitol and the State Legislative Office Building was jammed with enthusiastic parks supporters shilling for their park.

2013_State Parks Centennial Celebration 13

I love to see that passion and came away from my lunch time visit with a pile of maps and brochures. I ran into several friends, and had a chance to share my own enthusiasm for Connecticut’s trails and parks during a video interview. I wore my Limmer Boots (with a jacket and tie) today to highlight my own love of hiking.

2013_State Parks Centennial Celebration 18

The legislative battles are heating up, but with the trail running, hiking, and biking season on the horizon; I’ll be doing my part to ensure that Connecticut’s awesome parks get the resources that they deserve.

0 Responses to “Connecticut State Parks Centennial”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Horst Engineering

Thread Rolling Inc.

Sterling Machine

Horst Spikes

Instagram

#atl Starting the 2017 #trailrunning season in style...and on a Monday morning in the #caribbean to add to the fun! @trailrunningmom won the 13.8 mile #stjohntrailrace in 2:37. She wasn't far behind me. The @virginislandsnps trails were gnarly and it was hot. #teamhorstsports #shenipsitstriders @altrarunning #altrarunning @ultraspire #ultraspire @julbousa #julbousa #family #hiking #stjohnusvi @virginislandsnps #virginislandsnps Nice colors on our early A.M. flight. #md88 #JT8D #aerospace #sunrise ☀️ I'm pumped! I scored 47 vintage @appalachianmountainclub #Appalachia Journals (various issues between 1916-1979) with a #craigslist purchase. The process started with a #google Alert, and then after an email inquiry, followed by a text, and then a call; the terms were set. Hours later I pulled off the Mass Pike on my commute home from #sterlingmachine and did the deal in a commuter lot. I was fascinated by the seller's full time career in dealing ephemera and other collectibles. I'll add these to the stack of unread magazines, including the 10 boxes of vintage @natgeo magazines I scored years ago that @trailrunningmom keeps asking me where I plan to store them. We need more bookshelves. I've been getting Appalachia via mail twice/Year for 20 years and it has been published continuously since the #appalachianmountainclub founding in 1876. We wrapped up this snowy week with an afternoon #snowshoe "commute" to Little D's @girlscouts Brownie meeting and back. We are quite fortunate to have trails right out our front and back doors. #carfreecommute #boltonheritagefarm #rosefarm My favorite #denmother at the @thecubscouts Pack 157 Blue & Gold Dinner this past Friday. She even won the 50/50 raffle with one of these tickets. #cubscouts

Follow me on Twitter

Categories

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 268 other followers


