2013 Hop Brook Dam MTB Race

My legs got a rude awakening at my first bike race of the year. It was unseasonably cold and very windy at the Hop Brook Dam MTB Race in Middlebury, Connecticut. This was race #2 in the 2013 Root 66 Northeast XC Race Series. The whole family joined me at the race and the kids got to compete too. They even had cash primes for all of the kids.

2013_Hop Brook Dam MTB Race 5

Their race followed yet another Easter Egg hunt. After five-plus egg hunts in a week, I’m ready for Christmas now. Does anyone need some candy?

2013_Hop Brook Dam MTB Race 10

My race was great for two laps. The problem was that it was a four lap event for a total of 20 miles. I faded a bit on the third lap, and then blew up on the fourth lap. I was in the singlespeed division and held a nice top 5 spot for a while, but I think I faded to 11th. No matter, I got the workout I needed and followed the ~two hour race with a 30 ย minute run on the same trails.

2013_Hop Brook Dam MTB Race 21

We saw a lot of friends, including the Roti Family. The Roti kids also hunted and raced. My Seven Sola 29 SL was a little dusty from being in the basement all winter, and I added a layer of dried mud today. The course at Hop Brook Lake recreation area was nice. It had its share of ups and downs and a lot of tight turns with enough rocks to shake you up. The 1,907 feet of elevation gain

2013_Hop Brook Dam MTB Race 42

Team Horst Engineering was well represented today. Mike Wonderly led the way with a fine result. Paul Nyberg also placed in his age group. They were joined by Art Roti and me. I think the rest of the gang were out getting blown around on the roads at the Bethel Industrial Park. I was much happier in the woods, even without the cover of leaves.

2013_Hop Brook Dam MTB Race 4

Art and I were also representing Team Seven Cycles and Art was flying the NEMBA colors. It’s great to have a variety of affiliations at these races.

We were last at Hop Brook back in November of 2012 for the Hop Brook Cyclocross. It’s a nice venue with lots of space for hiking, running, biking, and even swimming. I’m not sure when I’ll race on the mountain bike again, but when the day comes, I’ll look to improve on today’s showing.

Race Results (will post when online)

Leave a Reply

Horst Engineering

Thread Rolling Inc.

Sterling Machine

Horst Spikes

Instagram

Bolton Center School 4th Grade State Fair. #northdakota He said the highlight was learning about the @maahdaahhey100 and #maahdaahheytrail Now we have to ride it! Late night #carfreecommute via the #hopriverstateparktrail #railtrail #bicycle Fantastic and "educational" @hookerbeer tour with @ypoglobal friends. #hookerbeer #beer #ypo #manufacturing #craftbeer #madeinhartford #madeinconnecticut ๐Ÿบ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ Start of this morning's 33rd annual #soapstonemountaintrailrace. @trailrunningmom warned the 225 runners that there are rocks and roots on the course. She then offered the patented #shenipsitstriders start line money back guarantee. #trailrunning ๐Ÿƒ๐Ÿปโ›ฐ #carfreecommute #burnsideavenue @horsteng #horstengineering #teamhorstsports #biketowork #biketoworkday #bicycle Broke out the #bridgestonemb1 and the #trailabike for a post-dinner Monday night #railtrail spin with the family. It's nice to have daylight at 8:00 P.M. #hopriverstateparktrail Little D at the #mothersdaydash 5K in Rockville. #shenipsitstriders #teamhorstsports #running @trailrunningmom doing her #trailrunning thing. He is learning the lines. He taught me a new saying after a particularly rugged, technical, and bouncy section. He said, "That was a serious chamois adjuster." #mountainbike #mountainbiking #teamhorstsports #teamhorstjuniorsquad

Follow me on Twitter

Categories

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 273 other followers


