2013 7 Sisters Trail Race

Today’s weather at the 7 Sisters Trail Race was spectacular. Debbie ran this legendary race for the 14th time in 15 years. The kids and I saw her at the start (which was nuts as usual), again on her return leg where the Metacomet-Monadnock Trail (M-M) crosses Mountain Road on the way to the summit of Mt. Holyoke.

2013_7 Sisters Trail Race 29

2013_7 Sisters Trail Race 60

2013_7 Sisters Trail Race 374

I’ve written about the rocky and rugged 12 mile (6 out/6 back) race on the New England Scenic Trail (M-M) many times, so there several posts in my blog archives that cover history and past races.

2013_7 Sisters Trail Race 336

Today’s race was notable for the record number of entrants. Results for this race are normally not posted for several days, but I bet there are 500 or more finishers, which is ridiculous. It’s amazing how this race has grown in popularity. The rugged nature of the course is the likely reason because other New England Grand Tree Trail Running Series races see far fewer runners. That’s too bad because there are some beautiful courses at some of the smaller events.

2013_7 Sisters Trail Race 258

7 Sisters has its painful charm. I saw a fair amount of sprained ankles, bumps, bruises, and cuts. I didn’t run this year, but I trust Debbie’s judgment when she says that there were too many people on this narrow rocky trail. It’s single track 95% of the way and with the out and back format, the congestion is a potential safety issue.

2013_7 Sisters Trail Race 96

Despite all of the newbies 7 Sisters, we saw a lot of our friends from the New England trail running community, including many club-mates from the Shenipsit Striders. The abundant sunshine, deep blue sky, and mild temperature permitted everyone to lounge on the grass after the race. The organizers moved the parking, registration, and post-race refreshments to a “The Bunker” located on Amherst College property up Military Road adjacent to the Bare Mountain.

2013_7 Sisters Trail Race 125

I found results on Coolrunning for 26 other running races for 5 May in Massachusetts alone. There must have been even more races, plus Connecticut, so running in the spring is definitely growing in popularity, which is a good thing.

2013_7 Sisters Trail Race 206

After watching the start, we drove over to the Mt. Holyoke side of the course. The gate on Mountain Rd. was closed again this year because of the ongoing construction at the Summit House. We parked and walked up the road to where the trail crosses on its way to the summit and then back down to the Connecticut River. We missed Debbie on her outbound leg, but we saw her on her return leg. She was in 2nd place, but ended up third. She wasn’t far behind first or third.

2013_7 Sisters Trail Race 395

Her time was much slower than her personal best from the early 2000’s, but she still had a blast in the woods today. I’m proud of her 14 finishes. I wonder how many other runners at today’s race have that many finishes?

2013_7 Sisters Trail Race 359

We lingered after the race and had a picnic lunch. Then, Debbie and the kids visited the Eric Carle Museum where they did artwork.  Then they went for a bike ride on the Norwottuck Rail Trail. While they were sightseeing, I went for a long bike ride. I went back to Mountain Rd. and did six repeats from Rt. 42 to the summit and back. It was a good workout. After the last climb, I spent a little time on the summit taking in the awesome views.

2013_7 Sisters Trail Race 412

The only hiccup was when I returned to Military Rd. to find my Subaru behind a locked fence. I purposely moved my car outside of the parking lot and on to the road to avoid a fence, but I missed the second fence farther up the road. I tracked down a ranger, who was helpful and contacted the Amherst College police for me. They sent an officer out after 30 minutes and he helped me liberate my car. I completed the days adventures by reuniting with Debbie and the kids in Northampton for a nice dinner. Maybe I’ll run 7 Sisters again in 2014. Maybe…

2013_7 Sisters Trail Race 452

See you all at the Soapstone Mountain Trail Race in two weeks. Debbie is the Race Director and would LOVE 500 runners. Just pre-register so we have enough veggie chili and pickles!

2013_Post 7 Sisters Ride & NoHo 12

2013_Post 7 Sisters Ride & NoHo 23

2013_Post 7 Sisters Ride & NoHo 28

Race Results

Race Photos (Printroom)

4 Responses to “2013 7 Sisters Trail Race”


  1. 1 photonfanatic 6 May 2013 at 7:31 pm

    I searched high and low, trying to see if you had left the keys near the car, but to no avail. Next year, we’ll alert everyone about the time limit for parking your car at the “Bunker.”

  2. 2 SimWebb 6 May 2013 at 11:41 pm

    Hey Scott, thanks for documenting the race!
    Mind if I use the picture of myself (red water bottle) as a profile picture around the web? Love that shot!


  1. 1 2013 Wapack and Back Trail Race | Life Adventures Trackback on 12 May 2013 at 2:50 pm
  2. 2 2014 7 Sisters Trail Race | Life Adventures Trackback on 4 May 2014 at 7:21 pm

Leave a Reply

Horst Engineering

Thread Rolling Inc.

Sterling Machine

Horst Spikes

Instagram

Our version of the Poggio...after 10 years of waiting, I think we found a new training partner in the household to join @trailrunningmom and me...at least on the easy days. I'll take advantage now since in another 10 years, I'll be the one getting dropped. #horstspikes #cycling @islabikesusa #islabikes #teamhorstsports #boltonheritagefarm #bolton #Connecticut L to R: Places 2, 4, and 3 at the frigid  #BoltonRoadRace We had lots of fun. The best part is that I tower over the crew in this photo! #shenipsitstriders #silkcitystriders #teamhorstsports #railtrail #vernon #Connecticut @seven_cycles #sevencycles #teamhorstsports Back in #hartford for #ctbizday with many business friends. #smallbusiness is the engine of our economy. @cbia_ @horsteng #horstengineering #familybusiness #manufacturing #aerospace #madeinconnecticut 🇺🇸 Last night, I got to listen to #RickRidgeway describe @patagonia and their mission in his own words as part of the @wornwear College Tour. @yalesustain hosted the event. I wrote a piece for my own blog and explained why I admire the company and how it inspires us @horsteng The restored plaster model of the Genius of #Connecticut stands in the Capitol rotunda. She dates back to 1877. I was here to represent @horsteng and the @cbia_ and talk health care cost containment with our local state senator. I got my points across, but even as we sat and talked, our health insurance costs rose. It happens every second of the very day. #cbia #horstengineering #smallbusiness I'll be back tomorrow for Connecticut Business Day. #ctbizday Early season training on the #railtrail with one member of the #teamhorstsports Junior squad. #hoprivertrail #horstspikes #islabikes #sevencycles #railtrail #hoprivertrail #trailrunning

Follow me on Twitter

Categories

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 269 other followers


