2013 Rev 3 Quassy Half Rev

This is a short race report because I’m knackered. Today’s Rev 3 Quassy Half  Rev was really hard. It was the third year in a row that I’ve done this race, and it was my slowest time yet. I was an amazing 15 minutes slower than last year in 5:10:42. 10 minutes of that difference came on the run and five minutes on the bike. The bike felt good, but I cracked hard on the run. They can’t all be good…

2013_Rev 3 Quassy Half 1

It was pretty warm today, which normally, wouldn’t be an issue, but it was the first time I had exercised in real heat in 2013. Everyone else had to deal with it too, so I won’t make any excuses. It was my first triathlon on the year, so it was good to see old friends and get back into the groove. There were a lot of racers from my tri club, the Hartford Extended Area Triathletes, because this is like our hometown race. The part of the race I was most pleased with was my transitions. Imagine that!

2013_Rev 3 Quassy Half 12

There were nearly 200 athletes in my 40-44 age group and like a thousand overall in the 70.3 mile race (1.2 mile swim/56 mile bike/13.1 mile run). Yesterday’s Olympic distance race had even more people. This was a good test for later in the summer when I return to the full Ironman distance. My fitness isn’t quite there yet.

2013_Rev 3 Quassy Half 17

My swim was slow like usual, but at least I felt good. No floundering and I stayed on course. It was smooth for me. I felt really strong on the bike, but the time didn’t show. I had to stop once because my seat bag that holds my spare tire came loose. I lost the strap, so I had to stuff the pack in my jersey. I also lost my salt capsules and gel flask (before using any) about 15 miles in to the bike leg. I ended up being underfueled, so I’ll make that adjustment next race. The Quassy course is relentless with lots of hills and more little ring climbing than any ultra distance triathlon that I’ve done. Even the run has some serious climbing. The swim is the only flat part of the course.

2013_Rev 3 Quassy Half 34

Debbie, Mrs. Schieffer, and the kids came to see my finish the bike and start the run. They had a lot of fun at the amusement park and particularly enjoyed the new water park features. The family was a huge help and it was great to have them around. I return the favor next weekend when we head to New York for Debbie’s race at the Cayuga Trails 50 Miler.

2013_iPhone Photos_June 11

I’ll nurse my sun burn, recover, and start training for the next one.

Race Results

0 Responses to “2013 Rev 3 Quassy Half Rev”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Horst Engineering

Thread Rolling Inc.

Sterling Machine

Horst Spikes

Instagram

Start of the @root66raceseries #DomnarskiFarm Junior 12-18 year old race. #root66raceseries #teamhorstsports #teamhorstjuniorsquad #mountainbiking #mountainbike Beautiful June day in #Massachusetts For me, the #westrocksuperprestige highlight is always the youngest junior girls and boys. Here is the start of last night's Junior 9-11 year old Short Track #mountainbike race. This is the next generation of #cycling enthusiasts. @the_ccap #teamhorstsports #teamhorstjuniorsquad #horstspikes #mountainbiking 🚵‍♀️🏆❤️ Not bad. Third place in the series for #singlespeed division after doing two of the four #westrocksuperprestige #mountainbike races. Fun just to ride strongly. #teamhorstsports #horstspikes @horsteng #mountainbiking @seven_cycles #sevencycles Incredible June night. One day after the #solstice for the #westrocksuperprestige finale. @the_ccap @horsteng #teamhorstsports #teamhorstjuniorsquad #mountainbiking #solstice #railtrail ride:  #teamhorstjuniorsquad #teamhorstsports #hopriverstateparktrail #mountainbike The second (our first) #windingtrails Summer Off-Road #Triathlon Series race of the year was a big success. Three Livingston's raced including @trailrunningmom and the first "Grand Feast" of the season with the Schulz Clan helped us refuel. #teamhorstsports #mountainbiking #trailrunning I ran the #greylocktrailrace on #fathersday and @trailrunningmom loosened her legs after #manitousrevenge by running the 5K with Little D. Shep took 5+ minutes off of last year's time. #mountgreylock The Western Massachusetts Athletic Club had to share #greylockglen with the #harrypotter festival, which was kind of crazy. It was a weird combination of people. I'm sticking with he  #trailrunning community. @trailrunningmom finished #manitousrevenge 54 miles in 14:41:32. Fantastic! She is pumped and primed for #hardrock100 next month. #teamhorstsports #shenipsitstriders #pursuitstrong #pursuitfitness #trailrunning @ultraspire #ultraspire @altrarunning #altrarunning #ultrarunning #catskillsmountains 🏃🏻⛰ Ben Nephew took the 54 rugged mile #manitousrevenge in 10 hours and 57 minutes. He said it was super slippery. @mountainpeakfitness #mountainpeakfitness #trailrunning #ultrarunning #catskillsmountains

Follow me on Twitter

Categories

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 278 other followers


