2013 Pat Griskus Sprint Triathlon

Tonight was the 26th Pat Griskus Sprint Triathlon. I’ve done it several years in a row and it is one of my favorite races of the year. It is a true summer classic. The Wednesday night format is a blast. The post-race party is one of the best of all the races I have done.

2013_Pat Griskus Sprint Triathlon 9

I love returning to see my friends. Tonight’s race was held despite heavy rain and the threat of thunderstorms. It was hot and humid, but the race started only 10 minutes late as the race organizers waited until a storm cell passed.

2013_Pat Griskus Sprint Triathlon 6

This race has the best volunteers and very enthusiastic spectators. It is a great event for first time triathletes and every year it attracts more than a 100 newbies. I was a little slower this year. I gave up some time on the swim, and oddly in T2. I’m not sure what happened there, but you can’t make those mistakes in a sprint. If I was a minute faster, I would have picked up five spots!

2013_Pat Griskus Sprint Triathlon 8

It was that tight. I had a good bike leg and an OK run, which makes me happy. I like challenging conditions and slick roads. I wish I was a bit faster on the run and I wish I had a few more miles of road because I would have surely made up even more ground after my slow start. Unfortunately, I’ve got gear to clean again, but it was still worth it. Congratulations to Chris Thomas and Tara Kupersmith, the overall winners.

Race Results

1 Response to “2013 Pat Griskus Sprint Triathlon”


  1. 1 Tom Wilkas 11 July 2013 at 9:33 pm

    Sweet! That’s Mike Maximenko with you in that picture, he’s my original entry point into triathlon some 16 years ago, he’s how I got involved with the original Pat Griskus Tri in the first place. Much reeeespec mon!
    Hey, great photo sent to me by Denise Seibart, she shared a condo with Pat and Robin Griskus for Pat’s first Ironman in 1985. He was the FIRST to do Ironman as an amputee.
    it’s at https://www.facebook.com/PatGriskusTriathlonSeries\

    Thanks Scott, always look forward to your reporting on the race! best TW


Leave a Reply

Horst Engineering

Thread Rolling Inc.

Sterling Machine

Horst Spikes

Instagram

Last night, we slept in a tent and dinner came out of our snack bag. Tonight, we have a real bed and dinner @eatfarewell was fantastic. I made progress towards replenishing the 4,852 calories that I burned at the #promiseland50k ++ #eatfarewell #vegan #tricycle washingtondc πŸƒπŸ»πŸš΄πŸ½ #promiseland50k was hot and hard. Both @trailrunningmom and I suffered badly. I told her that I'm "sticking with cycling" from now on! We didn't even check the results, which is fine because we are happy to just have finished. It was a beautiful course. It totaled 34 miles with 14,000 feet of elevation gain and loss. #ultrarunning #trailrunning #shenipsitstriders #teamhorstsports #virginia #blueridgemountains @trailrunningmom at #naturalbridgestatepark #bear Start of the @root66raceseries Junior Cat 3 #FatTireClassic #mountainbike #root66 Our kids have some classmates earning #taekwondo #tkd #blackbelt #bling at today's belt test. πŸ‡°πŸ‡·πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ Small goalie. Big goal. #soccer #futbol in the cold rain. #carfreecommute to @newburycomicsmanchester for @recordstoredayus #recordstoreday #rsd17 & #earthday Scored some rare #vinyl from #gratefuldead #pattismith #santana #brucespringsteen #pearljam & #u2 @newburycomics @linnproducts #linnsondek @seven_cycles #sevencycles #bicycle @thecubscouts #cubscouts Pack 157 #raingutterregatta @thecubscouts #cubscouts Pack 157 #raingutterregatta

Follow me on Twitter

Categories

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 267 other followers


