2013 Lifestyles Expo CT Sprint Triathlon

Today, Star Hill Sports held their first annual Lifestyles Expo CT Sprint Triathlon in Tolland, Connecticut. I swim at the Star Hill pool and Debbie is a yoga teacher at the gym. When she heard about the indoor/outdoor triathlon, she was interested.

2013_Lifestyles Expo CT Sprint Triathlon 19

I thought she was crazy to want to do it, but I’m glad she did. This was a nice diversion from her trail running with no expectations. It was just for fun. The format was changed from the original plan, but it all worked out.  The race was: 300 yard pool swim/10 mile spin bike/5 kilometer outdoor road run. There was a separate men’s and women’s race. The Star Hill team has some kinks to work out. They had quite a few logistics and timing issues. I only saw the women’s race and they were all in good spirits despite the issues.

2013_Lifestyles Expo CT Sprint Triathlon 5

Debbie had an absolute blast. Her one and only triathlon was more than 15 years ago. She watches me do them all of the time, so that qualifies her as an expert! She borrowed my goggles, pulled out a swim cap that I gave her three years ago, donned a bathing suit, and dove in. She held her own in the swim after opting to start second to last.

2013_Lifestyles Expo CT Sprint Triathlon 37

She had a strong bike, though the spin bike odometers aren’t that accurate. In my only indoor triathlon back in 2009, my bike was measuring less than half of the distance that I was covering! I think she had the fastest bike split, which was a surprise. She does ride a few days a week, so maybe we shouldn’t have been surprised.

2013_Lifestyles Expo CT Sprint Triathlon 92

She says she did OK on the run, which was hilly. She ended up winning the overall title, which brought a big smile to her face. The kids and I had fun watching her, taking pictures, and cheering on all of the women. I continue to be amazed and inspired by Janit Romayko. 84 year-old Richard Busa is one of our favorite “veteran” athletes and his recent finish at the Stone Cat Trail Marathon cemented his title as New England’s top octogenarian runner, but Janit (a veritable spring chicken at 68 years-old) is equally as impressive. She is one fit chick!

2013_Lifestyles Expo CT Sprint Triathlon 111

I’ll be sad to miss tomorrow’s 10th Annual Busa Bushwhack because we are going to the West Hill Shop Cyclocross instead. Boo. I’m also bummed to miss tonight’s Manchester Sports Hall of Fame induction ceremony because Janit is being honored. So cool. Debbie and I often talk about how we plan to be active well into our 80’s. Watching Richard and Janit proves that it doesn’t happen by accident. Now that Debbie is a certified triathlete (again), she and I have another sport to do battle in.

Race Results (will be posted when available)

0 Responses to “2013 Lifestyles Expo CT Sprint Triathlon”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Horst Engineering

Thread Rolling Inc.

Sterling Machine

Horst Spikes

Instagram

#shenipsittrail On the road again. @seven_cycles #sevencycles #teamhorstsports #atl Starting the 2017 #trailrunning season in style...and on a Monday morning in the #caribbean to add to the fun! @trailrunningmom won the 13.8 mile #stjohntrailrace in 2:37. She wasn't far behind me. The @virginislandsnps trails were gnarly and it was hot. #teamhorstsports #shenipsitstriders @altrarunning #altrarunning @ultraspire #ultraspire @julbousa #julbousa #family #hiking #stjohnusvi @virginislandsnps #virginislandsnps Nice colors on our early A.M. flight. #md88 #JT8D #aerospace #sunrise ☀️ I'm pumped! I scored 47 vintage @appalachianmountainclub #Appalachia Journals (various issues between 1916-1979) with a #craigslist purchase. The process started with a #google Alert, and then after an email inquiry, followed by a text, and then a call; the terms were set. Hours later I pulled off the Mass Pike on my commute home from #sterlingmachine and did the deal in a commuter lot. I was fascinated by the seller's full time career in dealing ephemera and other collectibles. I'll add these to the stack of unread magazines, including the 10 boxes of vintage @natgeo magazines I scored years ago that @trailrunningmom keeps asking me where I plan to store them. We need more bookshelves. I've been getting Appalachia via mail twice/Year for 20 years and it has been published continuously since the #appalachianmountainclub founding in 1876. We wrapped up this snowy week with an afternoon #snowshoe "commute" to Little D's @girlscouts Brownie meeting and back. We are quite fortunate to have trails right out our front and back doors. #carfreecommute #boltonheritagefarm #rosefarm

Follow me on Twitter

Categories

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 268 other followers


