2013 Cheshire & Hop Brook Cyclocross Races

The Connecticut Series of Cyclocross resumed this weekend with two races. Saturday’s race was in Cheshire and today’s race was in Middlebury at Hop Brook Lake. I did the mountain bike race at Hop Brook earlier this year and it is a great park.

I was away all week, but both races are near my in-law’s home, so it was convenient for us to go and stay with Debbie’s parents. The family joined me in Cheshire, but I went alone to Middlebury, which is only 15 minutes from the Schieffer’s.

2013_iPhone Photos 164

I didn’t have the best legs this weekend, but I had a lot of fun. Both days, I was joined in the 35+ race by Horst Engineering teammate Arthur Roti; and our teammates, Wade Summers and Mike Wonderly did the 45+ race.

Yesterday, Mike had a fantastic day on a course that suits mountain bikers with skills. That was perfect for Mike’s strengths, and he took a fine victory with a little teamwork from Wade. Both of them controlled the race at Hop Brook too, and they were in the front group, but they didn’t get the victory.

2013_iPhone Photos 166

In our races, Art rode strongly again. He narrowly missed the podium in Cheshire, but still scored free beer! I was a few spots behind him. On the faster of the two race courses today, we both missed the large front group and ended up in no-man’s-land. Again, Art was a few spots ahead of me.

Yesterday’s weather was spectacular with war temperatures and nice sunshine. Today, it was still mild, but it was damp with showers. The course was bone dry yesterday and a little damp today, but still no sign of mud in this New England cyclocross season. Thank you to the organizers for putting on a couple of good events. I miss the days when our team promoted the Frank-N-Horst Cyclocross, Fox Hill Cyclocross, and Connecticut Riverfront Cyclocross. We will do a cross race again some day.

1 Response to “2013 Cheshire & Hop Brook Cyclocross Races”



  1. 1 2014 Hop Brook Dam MTB Race | Life Adventures Trackback on 14 April 2014 at 8:19 pm

Leave a Reply

Horst Engineering

Thread Rolling Inc.

Sterling Machine

Horst Spikes

Instagram

Our version of the Poggio...after 10 years of waiting, I think we found a new training partner in the household to join @trailrunningmom and me...at least on the easy days. I'll take advantage now since in another 10 years, I'll be the one getting dropped. #horstspikes #cycling @islabikesusa #islabikes #teamhorstsports #boltonheritagefarm #bolton #Connecticut L to R: Places 2, 4, and 3 at the frigid  #BoltonRoadRace We had lots of fun. The best part is that I tower over the crew in this photo! #shenipsitstriders #silkcitystriders #teamhorstsports #railtrail #vernon #Connecticut @seven_cycles #sevencycles #teamhorstsports Back in #hartford for #ctbizday with many business friends. #smallbusiness is the engine of our economy. @cbia_ @horsteng #horstengineering #familybusiness #manufacturing #aerospace #madeinconnecticut 🇺🇸 Last night, I got to listen to #RickRidgeway describe @patagonia and their mission in his own words as part of the @wornwear College Tour. @yalesustain hosted the event. I wrote a piece for my own blog and explained why I admire the company and how it inspires us @horsteng The restored plaster model of the Genius of #Connecticut stands in the Capitol rotunda. She dates back to 1877. I was here to represent @horsteng and the @cbia_ and talk health care cost containment with our local state senator. I got my points across, but even as we sat and talked, our health insurance costs rose. It happens every second of the very day. #cbia #horstengineering #smallbusiness I'll be back tomorrow for Connecticut Business Day. #ctbizday Early season training on the #railtrail with one member of the #teamhorstsports Junior squad. #hoprivertrail #horstspikes #islabikes #sevencycles #railtrail #hoprivertrail #trailrunning

Follow me on Twitter

Categories

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 269 other followers


