Royal Machines: Live at the Mayan Theater

Some of you may have seen my Facebook post on February 26th from the Mayan Theater in Los Angeles, California. I was at the closing social for the YPO Global Leadership Conference. Entering the venue earlier in the evening, I knew that we would be entertained. The actor, Jim Belushi, played an opening set with his blues band.

2014_Orange County & LA Photos 52

Little did I know that the next  band, Royal Machines, slated for a 10:30 P.M. private show,  was going to rock the theater in a big way. I told Debbie that I sensed something cool was going to happen, so we moved from the Belasco Theater next door (they are connected by an alley) and stood right in front of the stage before they came on. That turned out to be a fortuitous decision.

2014_Orange County & LA Photos 78

It turns out that it was their first live show as a band. Nothing beats a loud rock and roll show in a club. I’ve been to a lot of shows over the years, but this 90 minutes of music was spectacular. I wish I had my Leica M9 with me, but I was only carrying my little Leica V-LUX and my iPhone. I was still able to grab some good shots. They just don’t have the resolution that I would hope for. Oh well, I was lucky to be in the right place at the right time.

2014_Orange County & LA Photos 95

Royal Machines is an all-star cover band comprised of members from several familiar bands. They are Dave Navarro (Janes Addiction), Billy Morrison (Billy Idol), Mark McGrath (Sugar Ray), Josh Freese (A Perfect Circle) and Chris Chaney (Alanis Morrisette), and actor Donovan Leitch. McGrath was the only one missing from the first show. 

2014_Orange County & LA Photos 211

They played some awesome tunes. Then, they started to roll out the guests. Guitarist Steve Stevens was the first guest. Courtney Love came out for a three song set. Then Steve Jones, the guitarist from the Sex Pistols, played with the band. After that, Billy Gibbons from ZZ Top played a rocking set. He was followed by Billy Idol. Closing out the show was none other than Ozzy Osbourne.

2014_Orange County & LA Photos 160

All I can say is that it was a wild night. I left the theater shaking my head.  

2014_Orange County & LA Photos 155

Click here for the band’s official Mayan gig info and gallery.

0 Responses to “Royal Machines: Live at the Mayan Theater”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Horst Engineering

Thread Rolling Inc.

Sterling Machine

Horst Spikes

Instagram

Last night, we slept in a tent and dinner came out of our snack bag. Tonight, we have a real bed and dinner @eatfarewell was fantastic. I made progress towards replenishing the 4,852 calories that I burned at the #promiseland50k ++ #eatfarewell #vegan #tricycle washingtondc 🏃🏻🚴🏽 #promiseland50k was hot and hard. Both @trailrunningmom and I suffered badly. I told her that I'm "sticking with cycling" from now on! We didn't even check the results, which is fine because we are happy to just have finished. It was a beautiful course. It totaled 34 miles with 14,000 feet of elevation gain and loss. #ultrarunning #trailrunning #shenipsitstriders #teamhorstsports #virginia #blueridgemountains @trailrunningmom at #naturalbridgestatepark #bear Start of the @root66raceseries Junior Cat 3 #FatTireClassic #mountainbike #root66 Our kids have some classmates earning #taekwondo #tkd #blackbelt #bling at today's belt test. 🇰🇷🇺🇸 Small goalie. Big goal. #soccer #futbol in the cold rain. #carfreecommute to @newburycomicsmanchester for @recordstoredayus #recordstoreday #rsd17 & #earthday Scored some rare #vinyl from #gratefuldead #pattismith #santana #brucespringsteen #pearljam & #u2 @newburycomics @linnproducts #linnsondek @seven_cycles #sevencycles #bicycle @thecubscouts #cubscouts Pack 157 #raingutterregatta @thecubscouts #cubscouts Pack 157 #raingutterregatta

Follow me on Twitter

Categories

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 267 other followers


