Sabino Canyon Recreation Area & Tucson

Every time I pass through Tucson, Arizona, I appreciate the city more and more. It is a true Mecca for outdoor sports enthusiasts. The climate is fantastic and the trails are spectacular. I had a little time before my flight home on Friday morning, so I was able to steal away for a little trail run.

2014_March_Tucson Trip 8

2014_March_Tucson Trip 24

I started at Sabino Canyon Recreation Area and took a series of trails to Cathedral Rock and back. It was a 15 mile round trip in a about three hours and 30 minutes. The weather was perfect. It was actually a little cool when I started, but the sun was warm. My original plan was to run in the eastern sector of Saguaro National Park, where I’ve never been, but I took the advice of a friend and tried Sabino instead.

2014_March_Tucson Trip 1

It was a great choice. Once I got off the access road and away from the morning walkers, I was on my own. I saw a few people on my way back down, but I had the trails to myself. I crossed through Bird Canyon and climbed more than 4,000 feet. I would have kept going, but I had a flight to catch so I turned back just before Cathedral Rock. The top was in sight, but I didn’t want to push my luck.

2014_March_Tucson Trip 47

2014_March_Tucson Trip 28

2014_March_Tucson Trip 34

This was my longest workout in a long time, so my legs were feeling it by the time I returned to the parking lot. I  didn’t realize that I had a long delay-filled trip ahead of me, so it was smart for me to get outside and move my body after last Thursday’s six-hour drive back from Guaymas.

2014_March_Tucson Trip 42

2014_March_Tucson Trip 50

I’m looking forward to a future trip when Debbie joins me to run on some of Tucson’s glorious trails. There is so much more to see.

1 Response to “Sabino Canyon Recreation Area & Tucson”


  1. 1 LFFL 23 March 2014 at 9:59 pm

    That looks like fun.


Leave a Reply

Horst Engineering

Thread Rolling Inc.

Sterling Machine

Horst Spikes

Instagram

@trailrunningmom at the counter @veggiegalaxy where they serve breakfast all day long! #vegetarian #vegan #cambridge Great seeing fellow ultra-runners @spencer.farrar @mikewardian and @trailrunningmom @racemaniaexpo in #boston #trailrunning #ultrarunning "Looking back, 2:04 does sound better than 2:05."-- @ryanhall3 (Being interviewed by Dave McGillivray @racemaniaexpo in #boston ) #running Even though I've heard @markallengrip tell his 1989 @ironmantri World Championship story many times, I never tire of it. He presented @racemaniaexpo @bostonu this morning. #markallen #ironman #triathlon Coach Al and @trailrunningmom demonstrate a proper front #plank and illustrate true #functionalstrength at their #trailrunning camp at @camphazenymca Campers had a day packed full of learning, exploring many other topics: descending technique, pacing, mental strength, nutrition, essential oils, and injury prevention. They even did pre-dinner #yoga and I joined them!  #fitinspiration #teamhorstsports #shenipsitstriders #ultrarunning #pursuitstrong Our version of the Poggio...after 10 years of waiting, I think we found a new training partner in the household to join @trailrunningmom and me...at least on the easy days. I'll take advantage now since in another 10 years, I'll be the one getting dropped. #horstspikes #cycling @islabikesusa #islabikes #teamhorstsports #boltonheritagefarm #bolton #Connecticut L to R: Places 2, 4, and 3 at the frigid  #BoltonRoadRace We had lots of fun. The best part is that I tower over the crew in this photo! #shenipsitstriders #silkcitystriders #teamhorstsports #railtrail #vernon #Connecticut @seven_cycles #sevencycles #teamhorstsports

Follow me on Twitter

Categories

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 269 other followers


