2014 CCAP Kermis

Wow, that was fun. Tonight at the 3rd annual Connecticut Cycling Advancement Program Kermis, I did my first criterium since the 2010 Keith Berger Memorial. Technically, a kermis course is longer than a criterium, but it felt like a criterium. Regardless, it was my first road bike race (not counting last week’s Mt. Washington Auto Road Bicycle Hill Climb), in a very long time.

2014_CCAP Kermis 13

I’ve avoided the road for a variety of reasons. It’s hard to find enough time to train to hang in the super-fast masters fields, and there is an added element risk when riding at these speeds in such close quarters. Tonight’s race wasn’t exactly an easy re-entry into the scene. It was a Friday night, it was raining, and it was getting dark after the 6:45 P.M. start.

2014_CCAP Kermis 7

I’ve done quite a few kermis races, though not an official one since 1994. I recently wrote about the 20th anniversary of my Belgian summer. Kermis or kermesse is a “festival.” The CCAP has adopted the style and applied it to their 1.60 mile course at Rentschler Field, the old Pratt & Whitney Aircraft airfield that is now the site of the UCONN Football stadium that is name after the iconic field. There were food trucks, beer tents, vendors, and a bounce house. It was a fun atmosphere.

2014_CCAP Kermis 27

Tonight, I was joined by five teammates, though only four in my race. Max Accaputo raced the elite men’s race that didn’t start until 8:00 P.M. They really rode in the dark! Our race was in the gloaming; I was joined by Pat Cunningham, Paul Nyberg, Ted D’Onofrio, and Trent Sullivan. All five of us are gearing up for cyclocross season. The speed workout was a one big reason why I decided to race. Another was that it was in my “hometown” or where I spend a lot of time, East Hartford, Connecticut.

2014_CCAP Kermis 9

The short race was fast. We covered 17.6 miles in 40 minutes at an average speed of 26.1 miles per hour. I just don’t ride that fast on my own. Thankfully, our race was safe, with no crashes. The course was fairly technical with a variety of turns, including one hairpin that was challenging in the rain because of paint (cross-walks and center-lines) on the wet pavement. We let a break get away and no Horst Engineering riders were able to bridge up. We took some hard pulls at the front of the field late in the race, but didn’t succeed in closing the gap. I stayed out of trouble in the field sprint.

2014_CCAP Kermis 42

I hung around afterwards to watch the elite men, man our team tent, and promote http://www.cross-spikes.com. We launched our new site a week ago and even sold a few sets of Horst Spikes on site tonight. It was nice to catch up with some of the road cycling friends that I don’t see as often anymore.

Race Results

Leave a Reply

Horst Engineering

Thread Rolling Inc.

Sterling Machine

Horst Spikes

Instagram

#atl Starting the 2017 #trailrunning season in style...and on a Monday morning in the #caribbean to add to the fun! @trailrunningmom won the 13.8 mile #stjohntrailrace in 2:37. She wasn't far behind me. The @virginislandsnps trails were gnarly and it was hot. #teamhorstsports #shenipsitstriders @altrarunning #altrarunning @ultraspire #ultraspire @julbousa #julbousa #family #hiking #stjohnusvi @virginislandsnps #virginislandsnps Nice colors on our early A.M. flight. #md88 #JT8D #aerospace #sunrise ☀️ I'm pumped! I scored 47 vintage @appalachianmountainclub #Appalachia Journals (various issues between 1916-1979) with a #craigslist purchase. The process started with a #google Alert, and then after an email inquiry, followed by a text, and then a call; the terms were set. Hours later I pulled off the Mass Pike on my commute home from #sterlingmachine and did the deal in a commuter lot. I was fascinated by the seller's full time career in dealing ephemera and other collectibles. I'll add these to the stack of unread magazines, including the 10 boxes of vintage @natgeo magazines I scored years ago that @trailrunningmom keeps asking me where I plan to store them. We need more bookshelves. I've been getting Appalachia via mail twice/Year for 20 years and it has been published continuously since the #appalachianmountainclub founding in 1876. We wrapped up this snowy week with an afternoon #snowshoe "commute" to Little D's @girlscouts Brownie meeting and back. We are quite fortunate to have trails right out our front and back doors. #carfreecommute #boltonheritagefarm #rosefarm My favorite #denmother at the @thecubscouts Pack 157 Blue & Gold Dinner this past Friday. She even won the 50/50 raffle with one of these tickets. #cubscouts

Follow me on Twitter

Categories

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 268 other followers


