5 Day Black & White Challenge

Earlier this month, ultra running friend and fellow photographer, Geoff Baker, nominated me to participate in the 5 Day Black and White Challenge. There are variations the theme, but the general premise is that you post one black and white photograph a day for five days. You can shoot fresh images or go to your archives and get old ones or make new versions of old color photos.

I don’t shoot B&W much, so I opted to grab some favorite color images that would look good covered. It was a fun process and I thank Geoff for challenging me to give it a shot. I have yet to pay it forward by nominating someone else, but I will in due time. I posted these five images on social media including my Facebook page.

Day 1

First up is a photo from our March 2006 hiking excursion to the Drakensberg Mountains of KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa. Debbie was 4.5 months pregnant with our first child, but that didn’t stop her from running. This photo shot with my Leica M6 TTL/Tri-Elmar lens on Fuji Velvia and then scanned. That’s Cathedral Peak in the background. Along with the Dawson-Middelman clan, we tried for the top, but were short on gear and guts, but we came close!

Deb, South Africa, Drakensberg, 2006, Mar-06 - Version 2

Day 2

This image taken at the market in Ubud on 22 February 2012. We had a fantastic family trip to Maya Ubud Resort & Spa in Bali, Indonesia; and walked to town from the hotel. Taken with my Leica M9 and Summilux-M 35mm f/1.4 ASPH Lens.

2012_Bali & Singapore 278

Day 3

This is a black and white image of a black and white outfit. Our son’s first tuxedo was rented in Bismarck, North Dakota for Brian and Heather Nelson’s wedding. Shot with my Leica M9 and my “go to” lens, the Summilux-M 35mm f/1.4 ASPH.

2011_North Dakota Trip 16

Day 4

This photo was taken at Taliesin West in Scottsdale, Arizona; the “winter home” of Frank Lloyd Wright. I had a chance to visit and take a tour back in November 2010. This is another image made with my Leica M9 and Summilux-M 35mm f/1.4 ASPH lens. There isn’t much to this image of a sculpture at the home, but I have always loved it.

2010_Guaymas-Phoenix Trip_November 132

Day 5

This image of the Knife Edge on Mt. Kathadin in Baxter State Park.I shot it using my Leica V-LUX 30 pocket camera on the last day of my 30’s in October 2012. Sometimes you need to go light and fast and it isn’t practical to carry a bigger/better camera.

2012_Katahdin Trip 142

I’m already working on five more.

0 Responses to “5 Day Black & White Challenge”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Horst Engineering

Thread Rolling Inc.

Sterling Machine

Horst Spikes

Instagram

Day one of the @the_ccap Junior #Cyclocross Camp was awesome. #horstspikes #teamhorstsports #teamhorstjuniorsquad #lifedeathcyclocross #crossiscoming @trailrunningmom led another successful #Yoga at #Sunset for the #boltonlandtrust This year's venue was the #BoltonHeritageFarm It's been a tradition to move to a new spot each time. I got my first #cyclocross ride of the year in too! #yogini #yogi #shavasana Sightseeing on my second favorite road in #Connecticut #grassyhill #cycling #bicycle #sevencycles #horstengineering Camp was swell! @thecubscouts @boyscoutsofamerica #cubscouts #boyscouts #junenorcrosswebster I visited the new HQ of the @appalachianmountainclub that is under construction at 10 City Square in #Charlestown I had to ride by the #BunkerHill Monument at the end of the #FreedomTrail #Boston #sevencycles First time at the People's Forest Trail Race since 2011. This first image is the look of a dejected man who lost 25 minutes with a wrong turn on a big descent. That's costly in an 11 kilometer race. Even worse is that @trailrunningmom is the one who led him (and two other runners) off course! They survived. It was a nice day on the #FarmingtonRiver. #trailrunning #teamhorstsports #shenipsitstriders 🏃🏻⛰🏆 Another great #sunset at #windingtrails Two distant pre-swim thunderclaps turned the race into a #Duathlon which suited me just fine! It's nice to not come into T1 with a two minute deficit. #Triathlon #mountainbiking #trailrunning #teamhorstsports Once again, @trailrunningmom took the cookie prize for winning the special summit competition at the finish line of the #shenipsitstriders #SoapstoneAssault Here is a picture of a picture of myself taking a picture. @cwoodside59 put together a nice piece for the @ctforestandparkassociation quarterly. I'm looking forward to my next #carfreecommute #selfie #bicycle

Follow me on Twitter

Categories

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 281 other followers


