2015 Fight for Air Climb (Hartford)

When I registered for today’s American Lung Association Fight For Air Climb, I had two goals in mind:

1) Support the Horst Engineering Health & Wellness Committee (HAWC) Team.

2) Don’t get hurt.

2015_Fight For Air Climb3

I think I succeeded in both. I know that support for the HAWC Team was strong. I got to spend part of the morning with six colleagues from our Connecticut operations and together, we have raised more than $1,300 to date. Thank you to our donors. A lot of the support came from our other Horst Engineering colleagues, vendors, and friends. At our quarterly all-hands meeting earlier this week, we raffled off a bunch of New England Patriots, New York Giants, BostonRed Sox, and New York Yankees regalia with all proceeds going to the cause.

HAWC Team

I didn’t fully appreciate the connection between stair climbing and the Lung Association until I reached the 38th floor of City Place I, Hartford’s tallest building. More than 320 people climbed the last 34 of those floors in the stairwell, and it was brutal. I led off our team and they rest of them followed at 20 second intervals. With chip timing (you wore the chip band on your wrist), they were able to send people off 20 seconds apart, all morning long.

2015_Fight For Air Climb34

When I burst on to the 38th floor, I was gasping for air and my heart rate was jacked. I might have gone faster if I could have gotten my heart rate above 182 where it maxed out. I averaged 176, which is pretty good for a four minute burst. Before the race, I was worried about my calves and my pesky plantar fasciitis (left foot), but they seem to be fine and its my lungs that got worked over. I guess that’s the point. Between the nasty warm stairwell air (dust and particulate) and the out of control breathing, I singed my lungs. So, when it comes to taking care of your lungs, I have even more appreciation.

2015_Fight For Air Climb25

This was my first ever stair climb. I trained for the event by jogging over to City Place from Horst Engineering’s Cedar Street plant. I ran across the Founder’s Bridge on a cold, but beautiful morning. My cool down took me down Main Street, past the music theatre, into Riverside Park, up on the dike, and across the Connecticut Southern Railroad Train Bridge, which is like 500 feet from Horst. The Connecticut River has flooded a little, but that is normal for spring.

2015_Fight For Air Climb38

It is worth noting that their was a normal amount of water flooding Riverside Park for April. The 2017 USA Cyclocross National Championships are scheduled to take place in that park on a course that will have elements taken from the early cyclocross races that Team Horst Sports promoted there in 2002 and 2003. It’s a great venue, and will be even better if there is no flooding in January 2017. We did our races in October and December, and January should be OK, but you never know.

I might give this stair climb thing a go again in the future. I’ve always wanted to do the granddaddy of stair climbs, the Empire State Building Run-Up. It’s on the to-do list now.

Whenever I’m in City Place, I think of 1980’s Hartford when the Russian Lady was going strong (in its first incarnation), the Whalers were still in town, and business was vibrant in the city. The building now has a 30% vacancy rate and last fall, was sold for the second time in three years. Hartford is far from what it used to be and the lack of tenants in this building is just one sign.

Of course, if I worked in that building on a daily basis, I would take the stairs.

Race Results

1 Response to “2015 Fight for Air Climb (Hartford)”



  1. 1 2015 Fat Tire Classic | Life Adventures Trackback on 26 April 2015 at 8:20 pm

Leave a Reply

Horst Engineering

Thread Rolling Inc.

Sterling Machine

Horst Spikes

Instagram

Fir @john.meyerle because I neglected to post earlier: @supercross_cup This video is the Cat 4/5 Men. Great start for @the_ccap boys Nick and Johnny. #supercrosscx #teamhorstsports #teamhorstjuniorsquad #horstengineering #crossspikes @horsteng #cyclocross #lifedeathcyclocross Another great day at the @supercross_cup The #teamhorstjuniorsquad did great on the tricky and challenging course that was left muddy by overnight rain. The wind was fierce. The Junior 9-14 year olds did battle with the Category 4/5 Women. #teamhorstsports @vittoriaseries #supercrosscx #supercrosscup #horstengineering @horsteng #crossspikes #cyclocross Good morning from the windy @supercross_cup The overnight wind destroyed many a tent. It’s supposed to get windier. The rain has turned the course to muck. It’s going to be off-camber insanity. Myles Mattern is warming up for the Juniors 9-14 year old Race and showing how it’s done. Second video is the Cat 4/5 Men. Great start for @the_ccap boys Nick and Johnny. #supercrosscx #teamhorstsports #teamhorstjuniorsquad #horstengineering #crossspikes @horsteng #cyclocross #lifedeathcyclocross Suffering in Suffern!! @supercross_cup Day 1 #supercrosscup #supercrosscx #teamhorstsports #crossspikes #horstengineering @horsteng @vittoriaseries #teamhorstjuniorsquad ☔️🚴🏽 Another great day at the @nohocx Day was marginally warmer, but the racing was even more intense. Even the Cub Juniors were throwing down! #teamhorstjuniorsquad #teamhorstsports #crossspikes #horstengineering #cyclocross #lifedeathcyclocross #nohocx @lutzmuseum Children’s #Poetry Night. Little D wrote and recited. A welcome Friday night arts and culture moment before a (cold) weekend full of intense #cyclocross racing! #lutzmuseum 📚 🚲 So much radness at today’s Newtown #Cyclocross Steady drizzle turned the horse farm into a greasy challenge for everyone. The Cub Junior 9-12 year olds are always a highlight. My first of two big wipeouts left my nose wounded (again). I should start wearing a face mask. My @seven_cycles Mudhoney was a trusty steed! Good work @the_ccap #teamhorstsports #teamhorstjuniorsquad #crossspikes #horstengineering #newtowncx #lifedeathcyclocross 🚴🏽 🐎 Nothing like #cheshirecx Yesterday’s Cheshire Cross was a blast. #Cyclocross #hecklehill #teamhorstsports #teamhorstjuniorsquad #crossspikes #horstengineering #lifedeathcyclocross 🚴🏽💪🏻🍺 At last night’s @ctforestandparkassociation Volunteer Appreciation Dinner, 45 people were honored for working 100+ hours in the past year. Their cumulative total was more than 9,000 hours. Most are trail maintenance volunteers, but some were education volunteers (i.e. naturalists, trainers). It’s always worth pointing out that CFPA is a nonprofit organization and needs support to exist. The Blue-Blazed Hiking Trails wouldn’t exist without these folks. Thank you! #blueblazedtrail #ctwoodlands #cfpa #trails #trailrunning #hiking

Follow me on Twitter

Categories

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 285 other followers


