Hans Christian Anderson Montessori School Graduation

Last Friday was our daughter’s last day at Hans Christian Anderson Montessori School (HCAMS). I wrote about the Montessori Method several years ago. I’m not an expert on education. I leave the debate about methods, testing, and other issues to others. I do know that the majority of the property taxes that we pay in East Hartford, South Windsor, and Lynn (MA) (through the business); and in Bolton (where we live) go towards education. A lot of our state income tax payments also fund education. I assume that there are inefficiencies because government and bureaucracy are part of the equation.

2015_HCAMS End of Year Picnic 69

We are fortunate that over the last six years, we have been able to pay tuition and send our children to private Montessori school for their pre-kindergarten and kindergarten years. From what I’ve read, and from my own experiences, I know that education in these formative years is an incredible difference maker. We are fortunate that this school is less than a mile from our house, has a strong standing in the community, and a great history. Debbie has served on the board for more than five years. She has been a dedicated member and a wonderful volunteer. She and her fellow board members have done such good work.

2015_HCAMS End of Year Picnic 11

At last Friday’s end of year picnic and graduation ceremony, I was feeling emotional about the years that we have been directly involved. As long as we live in Bolton, we will see the school every day, but with our daughter joining our son at Bolton Center School for their remaining elementary and middle-school years, the Montessori experience is now history. I highly recommend this method of teaching and learning. A big thanks goes out to all the teachers and administrators who have made the HCAMS experience so wonderful for our children over the last six years.

2015_HCAMS End of Year Picnic 77

Our last day ended with a fun show by Magician Matias, who came all the way from New York to entertain us. Debbie did the research, found him, and booked him. I laughed as much as the children. He was great. I alway thought graduation ceremonies for “little ones” were silly, but I’m a convert. If you saw the smiles on the three children that wrapped up their HCAMS years, you would smile too.

0 Responses to “Hans Christian Anderson Montessori School Graduation”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Horst Engineering

Thread Rolling Inc.

Sterling Machine

Horst Spikes

Instagram

Our version of the Poggio...after 10 years of waiting, I think we found a new training partner in the household to join @trailrunningmom and me...at least on the easy days. I'll take advantage now since in another 10 years, I'll be the one getting dropped. #horstspikes #cycling @islabikesusa #islabikes #teamhorstsports #boltonheritagefarm #bolton #Connecticut L to R: Places 2, 4, and 3 at the frigid  #BoltonRoadRace We had lots of fun. The best part is that I tower over the crew in this photo! #shenipsitstriders #silkcitystriders #teamhorstsports #railtrail #vernon #Connecticut @seven_cycles #sevencycles #teamhorstsports Back in #hartford for #ctbizday with many business friends. #smallbusiness is the engine of our economy. @cbia_ @horsteng #horstengineering #familybusiness #manufacturing #aerospace #madeinconnecticut 🇺🇸 Last night, I got to listen to #RickRidgeway describe @patagonia and their mission in his own words as part of the @wornwear College Tour. @yalesustain hosted the event. I wrote a piece for my own blog and explained why I admire the company and how it inspires us @horsteng The restored plaster model of the Genius of #Connecticut stands in the Capitol rotunda. She dates back to 1877. I was here to represent @horsteng and the @cbia_ and talk health care cost containment with our local state senator. I got my points across, but even as we sat and talked, our health insurance costs rose. It happens every second of the very day. #cbia #horstengineering #smallbusiness I'll be back tomorrow for Connecticut Business Day. #ctbizday Early season training on the #railtrail with one member of the #teamhorstsports Junior squad. #hoprivertrail #horstspikes #islabikes #sevencycles #railtrail #hoprivertrail #trailrunning

Follow me on Twitter

Categories

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 269 other followers


