2015 Niantic Bay Triathlon

Today, I returned to the Niantic Bay Triathlon for the first time since 2013. Sadly, I missed last year’s race. The course is one of my favorites. It was the 6th time that I’ve done the event. Today was the 17th edition. My first was back in 2002.

IMG_1175

The course is 10 minutes from my parents place in Old Lyme, and where I spent the summers of my youth at Old Colony Beach. I enjoy the 1/2 mile ocean swim, though its more like a bay swim with a nuclear power plant warming the water! The 12 mile bike course is also a favorite with its undulating roads and several tight turns. The fun 3.2 mile run no longer includes the scenic Bluff (Superstorm Sandy’s damage caused serious erosion), but the twisting course winds its way around the beach community before finishing on the beach.

IMG_1164

I had heavy legs today, and knew it before the start. I was in the second wave and had to deal with a lot of traffic on the swim. It was shallow and the water was dirty, but everyone dealt with the same conditions. I was just slow. The current wasn’t bad as the tide was low. I made up a lot of ground on the bike. I did a lot of passing and didn’t get passed. I moved up, but was limited in how much I could improve my position. I felt good on the run, but the time was nothing special.

IMG_1167

I finished strong, but know that my time was about three minutes slower than 2013 and my 2nd slowest time ever. I still managed 5th overall and 1st in 40-44, so I’m pleased.

IMG_1178

Spencer Ralston crushed us again. I love his exuberance. He lives less than 10 minutes from us in Hebron, so I’m really rooting for him. He has major upside. Debbie and I were joking with him after the race. She rode her bike from Old Lyme to cheer me on. When we finished, he was asking me about Debbie’s insane Speedgoat race in Utah last weekend. I said that he ought to talk to her himself and pointed her out on the other side of transition. He ran over yelling to get her attention, “Mrs. Livingston!”

IMG_1171

I loved that moment. I quizzed him about his goals. He has the XTERRA World Championships on tap plus several ITU style road triathlons this fall. He is working towards a spot on the USA Triathlon Olympic training squad. His swimming and running are his strengths. If he improves his bike skills, gets in to some regular group rides, builds his cycling strength, then he has a shot. I think he said that he has to be able to swim a mile in less than 18 minutes and run a mile in less than 4:37, which is nuts. Go Spencer!

IMG_1179

He made us laugh when to further highlight his upside, he said that he “grew an inch last year.” He further noted that his Mom isn’t happy because he no longer fits any of his pants. Oh, to be 20 again! All kidding aside, he really put the smack down today and had the only sub-60 minute time of the 412 finishers. He was followed by Brendan Atkins and Gilles Benjabauer. Special note that fellow Hartford Extended Area Triathletes clubmate, William Schumann, was in front of me. He is a very strong 50+ triathlete. He put more than three minutes into me on the swim and I only eroded a minute of that gap between the bike and run.

IMG_1174

Leading the women was Elise Vonhousen. She was followed by Caroline Pierce and Meghan Pagliuco. Niantic is also known for beginners and first timers. There were a lot of great performances. Nice beach road courses like Niantic take work to put on, and with the HMF staff, volunteers, and local police, there were more than 100 people supporting the racers. There were lots of marshals and even though I know the course by heart, I appreciated all the help.

IMG_2959

I’ve got a quick turnaround to Winding Trails on Tuesday night where I got beat last week. I wasn’t happy about that, but also had dead legs and didn’t feel good in the heat. I’m hoping to avenge that (unless Spencer shows up!) but in the end, I’m just happy that I’m racing near the front again.

Race Results

0 Responses to “2015 Niantic Bay Triathlon”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Horst Engineering

Thread Rolling Inc.

Sterling Machine

Horst Spikes

Instagram

Not a bad way to cap the weekend. @patriots #nepatriots #patsgame #patriots 🏈 Two days of #crawfordnotch views sandwiched with @appalachianmountainclub meeting. Cycling on Rt. 302, #trailrunning on the Crawford Path, and Mount Willard. #newhampshire 🚴🏽🏃🏻⛰ Sites and sounds from Day 2 @gpgloucester #gpgloucester The fog was burning off by the end of the Cub Juniors 9-14 year old race.

#horstspikes #cyclocross #lifedeathcyclocross #horstengineering #teamhorstsports #teamhorstjuniorsquad #madeinconnecticut #madeinnewengland #madeinusa 🇺🇸 It was great to see so many friends at today’s Western #Massachusetts Athletic Club Monroe (Dunbar Brook) Trail Race. We all ran the 2-Miler. We couldn’t stay long after the finish, but we did see Kelsey Allen win overall in the 10.5 Mile main event. Hooray! #trailrunning 🏃🏻 Before and after the Western #Massachusetts Athletic Club’s Monroe (Dunbar Brook) Trail Race in the #Berkshires I rode (very wet) over from Savoy Mountain State Forest where we camped last night. On the ride along the #DeerfieldRiver I checked out #ZoarGap and then we walked down to the river to see the Tooth. Sadly, the kayakers had already passed through. The foliage turned overnight. #trailrunning #cycling 🚴🏽🏃🏻⛰ #Cyclocross racing in the morning and downhill #mountainbiking @thundermountainbikepark in the afternoon. We got in two late afternoon runs on rental bikes and are pumped to return for more fun in the future. #teamhorstsports #teamhorstjuniorsquad #thundermountainbikepark #berkshireeast 🚵‍♀️⛰ 30 kids in the 9-12 year old Race at the #mansfieldhollow #Cyclocross That’s just awesome! @the_ccap #teamhorstsports #teamhorstjuniorsquad #crossspikes #crossisboss This image was from pregame, but approaching halftime @uconnfootball there aren’t many more fans than you see here. 35 (Memphis ) to 21 (UCONN) is a lot of points in 30 minutes of #football #uconn This morning I got to hear Warren Rustand, inspirational entrepreneur and fellow @ypoglobal member, speak at a #ypo Connecticut River Valley Chapter meeting. It was fitting that the event was @riverfrontrecapture and literally ON the #connecticutriver I walked from @horsteng via my favorite train bridge. The 10 minute trip back to the plant was ample time to reflect on the #leadership lessons that he shared with our group. @garyrome and I decided that we should memorialize our time with this dedicated athlete, by requesting that he join our photo. #horstengineering #business

Follow me on Twitter

Categories

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 284 other followers


