2015 Wicked Creepy Cross

Today, I went to the 9th annual Wicked Creepy Cross in Bennington, Vermont. It was the fourth of five races in the NYCROSS Series, and I was joined by Arthur Roti, his son, and my son. The boys had an absolute blast. This is the only cyclocross course that I know where the venue also has a BMX track. My Garmin results show the course and the track.

2015_iPhone Photos_October 98

2015_iPhone Photos_October 142

Willow Park in Bennington was the site of the festivities, and it is a little jewel. The views of the southern Green Mountains and the views during our drive through the Berkshires were fantastic. It was a bit rainy, so the foliage was a little dark, but it was still another great New England autumn day. The BMX track was certainly a hit with the boys. I did see some big smiles on the adults too.

2015_iPhone Photos_October 111

2015_iPhone Photos_October 116

The cross course was also very good. This was my first time at this race. It was well done and had those little touches that make a good event. The kids race was a short course/one lap affair that was more ceremonial than competitive. There was even a Costume Lap, which was good for a few giggles.

2015_iPhone Photos_October 123

I got to see Chris and Kate Northcott for the second weekend in a row and Chris was kind enough to keep an eye on our kids while Art and I raced. Last week, I saw the Northcott clan in Keene, New Hampshire at the PumpkinCross. We are going to see a lot of them in the next month with the West Hill Shop Cyclocross in Putney, Vermont next weekend, and then the Cycle-Smart International in Northampton, Massachusetts the week after that.

2015_iPhone Photos_October 112

2015_iPhone Photos_October 129

Art and I were joined by our teammate, Paul Nyberg. All of the Masters riders 35 and up started together, so it was one big group of 35’s, 45’s, and 55’s. Paul scored third in his age group. Art and I had decent rides against our peers. I had a good start, whereas Paul had a big wipeout in the first corner. He recovered, only to fall again during the race, so maybe he could have done better than 3rd without the mishaps. I rode a generally clean race and had some nice inter-race battles. When you aren’t lighting up the front of the race, that is what cross is about. It was muddy in a few spots and slick in others. I was happy with my Seven Mudhoney  Pro; the bike handled well.

2015_iPhone Photos_October 128

2015_iPhone Photos_October 150

I lost a little ground with a few laps to go, but maintained a steady pace and held off some rivals as the finish neared. The race had a mix of tight turns, sharp sprinting, and medium drags. There was a short run up with wood steps that I had to dismount for. There was also a set of barriers requiring a dismount, and there was a steep loose dirt run-up that sapped the leg strength. I used my Medium Horst Spikes today, though I could have used Long’s. We finally got to use them in some proper wet and muddy conditions. I didn’t have time before the start to swap them out. I’ll definitely have Long’s in my Sidi shoes for Putney next week. That course has one of my favorite run-ups in New England.

2015_iPhone Photos_October 105

After we packed up, we watched a little of the women’s race. Kate was off the front and doing very well. It was fun to watch. On the drive back to Connecticut, we stopped in Shelburne Falls, Massachusetts for a late lunch and to check out the Bridge of Flowers. It was a fun Sunday with the boys.

2015_iPhone Photos_October 157

Race Results

0 Responses to “2015 Wicked Creepy Cross”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Horst Engineering

Thread Rolling Inc.

Sterling Machine

Horst Spikes

Instagram

@trailrunningmom at the counter @veggiegalaxy where they serve breakfast all day long! #vegetarian #vegan #cambridge Great seeing fellow ultra-runners @spencer.farrar @mikewardian and @trailrunningmom @racemaniaexpo in #boston #trailrunning #ultrarunning "Looking back, 2:04 does sound better than 2:05."-- @ryanhall3 (Being interviewed by Dave McGillivray @racemaniaexpo in #boston ) #running Even though I've heard @markallengrip tell his 1989 @ironmantri World Championship story many times, I never tire of it. He presented @racemaniaexpo @bostonu this morning. #markallen #ironman #triathlon Coach Al and @trailrunningmom demonstrate a proper front #plank and illustrate true #functionalstrength at their #trailrunning camp at @camphazenymca Campers had a day packed full of learning, exploring many other topics: descending technique, pacing, mental strength, nutrition, essential oils, and injury prevention. They even did pre-dinner #yoga and I joined them!  #fitinspiration #teamhorstsports #shenipsitstriders #ultrarunning #pursuitstrong Our version of the Poggio...after 10 years of waiting, I think we found a new training partner in the household to join @trailrunningmom and me...at least on the easy days. I'll take advantage now since in another 10 years, I'll be the one getting dropped. #horstspikes #cycling @islabikesusa #islabikes #teamhorstsports #boltonheritagefarm #bolton #Connecticut L to R: Places 2, 4, and 3 at the frigid  #BoltonRoadRace We had lots of fun. The best part is that I tower over the crew in this photo! #shenipsitstriders #silkcitystriders #teamhorstsports #railtrail #vernon #Connecticut @seven_cycles #sevencycles #teamhorstsports

Follow me on Twitter

Categories

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 269 other followers


