2016 XTERRA French River Triathlon

Debbie and I tried something new today. We did the XTERRA French River Triathlon in Oxford, Massachusetts, and had a blast. Despite being experienced off-road triathletes, we had never done an XTERRA race before.

IMG_8010

We had heard good things about XTERRA races, but never made it to one. The Oxford location is only an hour from our home and those trails have previously hosted regional trail running and mountain biking events.

IMG_7988

We had spectacular June weather with bright sunshine and an 8:00 A.M. start time temperature in the low-70’s Fahrenheit. It heated up pretty good; by the time we finished was in the mid-80’s. The water temperature in Carbuncle Pond was nearly 75 degrees, so very comfortable.

IMG_7974The course was billed as a 1/2  mile swim, 12 mile mountain bike, and a 5.5 mile trail run. My Strava data shows that it was more like 1,100 yards or 5/8ths of a mile swim–11.6 mile mountain bike–4.8 mile run. There were so many twists and turns on the bike course, that who knows what the actual distance was. Same goes for the run, though at the start, they said it would be a bit shorter than advertised. That was a bummer because the longer the bike and run, the better for me.

IMG_7980

The swim start was a time trial start, which was also a first for me. We lined up in pairs and they started us two by two at three-second intervals until everyone was in the water. We did two laps of the triangular course. Carbuncle Pond was a bit mucky, but it was fine.

IMG_7979Last night, we drove up and pre-rode the mountain bike course. All I can say is that it was rugged. It was mostly flat, with a few punchy climbs, but it was very rocky and there were lots of roots. It was also very dusty. The trails get heavy motorbike use and the dirt was pulverized into a fine consistency. I’m glad it was dry. I heard that they had a deluge in 2015 and that it was a mudfest.

IMG_8002

Our pre-ride was eventful because we drove up after work and didn’t get on our bikes until 7:30 P.M. By the time we finished, it was dark and past 9:00 P.M. We had to ride the last three miles on the road after bailing out on the trails, which were impossible to see. Still, seeing most of the course in advance was helpful. I was much happier riding the trails in daylight. I felt OK on the bike. I only ride rigid single speed and my Seven Sola SL was awesome, but a disadvantage on some sections of the course. Being so flat, I was frequently spun out with only one gear. Tomorrow and Monday, I’ll feel the back, neck, and arm pain from all of the pounding. I thought I could ride faster, but didn’t end up catching as many of the fast swimmers as I wanted to.

IMG_7982

We didn’t see any of the run course in advance and it the hilly nature of it caught me by surprise. I was told it was “runnable” which technically, is true, though the hills I was running were slow. The trails were also quite rocky and full of roots. I haven’t been running very well. I got hammered by  my rival, Jon Arellano, at this week’s Winding Trails Summer Tri Series Race #2. I had a big lead on him in week #1 and held him off, but this week, we were together coming out of T2, and he put 90 seconds to me in five kilometers on those fast trails.

IMG_8005

So, today, I was happy that the French River course was hilly and technical because I’m better on the ups. I got caught by one guy on the run and couldn’t hang with him. He was flying. Then, I caught a few guys and a few more guys caught me. I noticed from the leg markings that two of them were in my age group. So, I pushed on the final few hills and got ahead of that small group.

IMG_8012

I finished in 1:54:06, was 11th overall and 2nd in my age group, which is cool. Debbie had a good race too. I got to see her finish 3rd in her age group and 9th out of the women. She gained some valuable experience with the longer open water swim and the tough mountain bike course. We each earned a cookie for our efforts, which is good because we have two kids.

It was nice to see fellow Hartford Extended Area Triathletes teammates Doug Lord and Gabriel Jiran. Gabe got the best of me and took first in our age group. I was thankful that I pushed hard at the end because the third place finisher in our age group was only two seconds behind me. With the time trial swim start, you don’t know exactly where you stand, so you  have to just keep pushing. We also got to spend some time with Barry, Carolyn, and Spencer Ralston. Spencer had a great race, finishing 2nd overall. He was bested by Dominic Gillen, an elite off-road triathlete. Third was Joshua Loren. The first woman was Kelli Montgomery. She was followed by Kathleen Wanat and Stephanie Landry.

MRA Multisport promoted the race and they did a good job. The best thing they had after the finish was watermelon! I ate a ton of it. The volunteers and workers were great. We did the Long Course triathlon, but they offered several variations, including a Short Course triathlon, a duathlon, and a Paddle triathlon.

We just might do this race again in the future. We will also consider additional XTERRA Series races, but as of now, have no plans.

Race Results (Long Course)

Race Results (All Events)

0 Responses to “2016 XTERRA French River Triathlon”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Horst Engineering

Thread Rolling Inc.

Sterling Machine

Horst Spikes

Instagram

#shenipsittrail On the road again. @seven_cycles #sevencycles #teamhorstsports #atl Starting the 2017 #trailrunning season in style...and on a Monday morning in the #caribbean to add to the fun! @trailrunningmom won the 13.8 mile #stjohntrailrace in 2:37. She wasn't far behind me. The @virginislandsnps trails were gnarly and it was hot. #teamhorstsports #shenipsitstriders @altrarunning #altrarunning @ultraspire #ultraspire @julbousa #julbousa #family #hiking #stjohnusvi @virginislandsnps #virginislandsnps Nice colors on our early A.M. flight. #md88 #JT8D #aerospace #sunrise ☀️ I'm pumped! I scored 47 vintage @appalachianmountainclub #Appalachia Journals (various issues between 1916-1979) with a #craigslist purchase. The process started with a #google Alert, and then after an email inquiry, followed by a text, and then a call; the terms were set. Hours later I pulled off the Mass Pike on my commute home from #sterlingmachine and did the deal in a commuter lot. I was fascinated by the seller's full time career in dealing ephemera and other collectibles. I'll add these to the stack of unread magazines, including the 10 boxes of vintage @natgeo magazines I scored years ago that @trailrunningmom keeps asking me where I plan to store them. We need more bookshelves. I've been getting Appalachia via mail twice/Year for 20 years and it has been published continuously since the #appalachianmountainclub founding in 1876. We wrapped up this snowy week with an afternoon #snowshoe "commute" to Little D's @girlscouts Brownie meeting and back. We are quite fortunate to have trails right out our front and back doors. #carfreecommute #boltonheritagefarm #rosefarm

Follow me on Twitter

Categories

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 268 other followers


