2016 Newtown Cyclocross

The Newtown Cyclocross p/b CCAP and Team 26 was a lot of fun. It was my third time doing this race at Fairfield Hills in Newtown, Connecticut. It was race number six in the CT Series of CX.

img_0704

It was another good turnout for Team Horst Sports. We were represented in the Men’s 4/5 race by Randall Dutton. In the Cub Juniors 9-12 year old race, Sean Rourke led the way in 6th place with another impressive ride. Shepard Livingston, Lars Roti, and Nate Summers all had a good race. There were 28 kids in the Cub Juniors race. It was the second largest field of the day. Only the Men’s 4/5 race was larger. In the Masters 50+ race, Pat Cunningham was 5th and Tom Ricardi was 7th.

img_0692

I did the Masters 40+ race with Wade Summers and Art Roti. I came close to scoring my second podium finish in eight days, but I blew it on the last lap, allowing Laurence Merling to lead through the final corners thinking I could get past him on the finishing stretch of asphalt. It was not a tactical finish, but rather an all out lap. We took turns pulling in an effort to stay in front of Jeremy Brazeal and Stan Lezon, who weren’t far behind. We went all out and our last lap (6:52) and it was the fastest one clocked for all Masters riders in the six lap race.

img_0732

Laurence led me through the barriers and then past the pit. I never got around him and he finished one second in front of me. Split seconds matter at that point in the race when you are on the rivet. I made an error about 1/4 mile from the finish after we came through the pit. There was a sequence of tight turns and in my hypoxic state, I took one too hard, and ended up off the groove and in some loose leaves and brush. I had to chase and close a three-second gap before the final few turns. I never had a chance to come around him and it was game over.

img_0731

I banged my bars is frustration, but the reality is I probably wouldn’t have had a chance to sprint for third if Tim Ratta hadn’t flatted on the second lap just after we came through the pit. He had to run his bike a long way to get back to the pit (you aren’t permitted to go backwards on the course), and likely would have finished in the top three. As it turned out, Brian Girard and Joe Kubisek pulled away from us after three laps. Laurence and I couldn’t close the gap. Those guys are so strong.

img_0713

Wade and Art had good races too. We all suffered in the wind on the flat and fast course. This race has more wide open riding and we averaged more than 15 miles per hour over the course of the 43 minute race.

Debbie and our daughter joined us and she ended up doing the Kids Fun Race, which netted her a water bottle full of candy. Halloween wasn’t even a week ago and she is stocking up again.

img_0726

I’m sending a shout out to cousin Lucas Smallidge, who co-led the Men’s 3/4 race for five laps. He came so close to the win, but it looks like he either had an incident on the last lap, or just faded as he finished second to Anson Ross, who he matched lap times with up until the last go round the course.

img_0708

Thanks to the volunteers from CCAP and Team 26 for putting on another good event. Next up is the Verge Northampton International Cyclocross race weekend in Massachusetts.  Horst Engineering will have a big presence at the event. Come visit us at the expo where we will show off our Horst Spikes product line.

Race Results

0 Responses to “2016 Newtown Cyclocross”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Horst Engineering

Thread Rolling Inc.

Sterling Machine

Horst Spikes

Instagram

Our version of the Poggio...after 10 years of waiting, I think we found a new training partner in the household to join @trailrunningmom and me...at least on the easy days. I'll take advantage now since in another 10 years, I'll be the one getting dropped. #horstspikes #cycling @islabikesusa #islabikes #teamhorstsports #boltonheritagefarm #bolton #Connecticut L to R: Places 2, 4, and 3 at the frigid  #BoltonRoadRace We had lots of fun. The best part is that I tower over the crew in this photo! #shenipsitstriders #silkcitystriders #teamhorstsports #railtrail #vernon #Connecticut @seven_cycles #sevencycles #teamhorstsports Back in #hartford for #ctbizday with many business friends. #smallbusiness is the engine of our economy. @cbia_ @horsteng #horstengineering #familybusiness #manufacturing #aerospace #madeinconnecticut 🇺🇸 Last night, I got to listen to #RickRidgeway describe @patagonia and their mission in his own words as part of the @wornwear College Tour. @yalesustain hosted the event. I wrote a piece for my own blog and explained why I admire the company and how it inspires us @horsteng The restored plaster model of the Genius of #Connecticut stands in the Capitol rotunda. She dates back to 1877. I was here to represent @horsteng and the @cbia_ and talk health care cost containment with our local state senator. I got my points across, but even as we sat and talked, our health insurance costs rose. It happens every second of the very day. #cbia #horstengineering #smallbusiness I'll be back tomorrow for Connecticut Business Day. #ctbizday Early season training on the #railtrail with one member of the #teamhorstsports Junior squad. #hoprivertrail #horstspikes #islabikes #sevencycles #railtrail #hoprivertrail #trailrunning

Follow me on Twitter

Categories

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 269 other followers


