2016 Supercross Cup, Day #2

What a difference 24 hours makes. After Saturday’s unseasonably dry and warm weather at the Supercross Cup, Sunday’s weather was extraordinarily bad. Overnight, it snowed several inches in Rockland County, New York.

img_1252

img_1234

The Rockland Community College course turned into a quagmire. The early morning races got the worst of it. It was our luck that all of the Team Horst Sports riders were in the second and third races of the day.  It was freezing cold and extremely wet.

img_1227

After a warmup lap on the snowy, icy, and muddy course, our Cub Junior team was reduced from three to one. Wisely, our two youngest riders opted to sit this one out. They will have more than enough future opportunities to ride in the mud. The strongest of our bunch, Sean, raced. He was super-tough to gut out a finish in the awful conditions, but the distress on his face at the finish signaled the discomfort of having cold and wet feet and hands.

img_1247

img_1230

The Masters 45+ and 55+ race followed at 9:45 A.M. and it was still freezing cold. The course was super slippery. I had a terrible race compared to yesterday’s excellent race. The conditions were horrendous and I suffered miserably during the five lap event. I made a few preparation mistakes in addition to all of the in-race errors. I could have used an extra layer under my long sleeve skin suit. I had a Capilene base layer, but it was too thin. I could have used thicker gloves. My fingers were frozen and they didn’t warm up until the fourth lap. In the meantime, I was having trouble braking and shifting. I could have also used an extra pair of socks (two layers). I’ll be better prepared next time.

img_1238

By the third lap, my disc brake pads were shot. I’ll have some maintenance to do before the next race. It took me 64 minutes to go less than nine miles. One good thing (that prolonged the suffering) was that I didn’t get lapped. I hung in their and finished.

img_1260

It was a great day to showcase Horst Spikes. After all of the dusty and warm races, this one had true cyclocross weather. I used Titanium Long Cross Spikes TM and they were fantastic. Some of our team riders used the Ice & Snow in either Titanium or Stainless Steel. Our Cub Juniors used either Medium or Mini Standard.

Cross Spikes TM were critical for gaining grip on the numerous steep climbs and on the off camber sections that required running. I saw some amazing skills out there yesterday. Some riders are so talented at handling their bikes. I was happy to survive this one.

Race Results (will be posted when available)

0 Responses to “2016 Supercross Cup, Day #2”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Horst Engineering

Thread Rolling Inc.

Sterling Machine

Horst Spikes

Instagram

@trailrunningmom at the counter @veggiegalaxy where they serve breakfast all day long! #vegetarian #vegan #cambridge Great seeing fellow ultra-runners @spencer.farrar @mikewardian and @trailrunningmom @racemaniaexpo in #boston #trailrunning #ultrarunning "Looking back, 2:04 does sound better than 2:05."-- @ryanhall3 (Being interviewed by Dave McGillivray @racemaniaexpo in #boston ) #running Even though I've heard @markallengrip tell his 1989 @ironmantri World Championship story many times, I never tire of it. He presented @racemaniaexpo @bostonu this morning. #markallen #ironman #triathlon Coach Al and @trailrunningmom demonstrate a proper front #plank and illustrate true #functionalstrength at their #trailrunning camp at @camphazenymca Campers had a day packed full of learning, exploring many other topics: descending technique, pacing, mental strength, nutrition, essential oils, and injury prevention. They even did pre-dinner #yoga and I joined them!  #fitinspiration #teamhorstsports #shenipsitstriders #ultrarunning #pursuitstrong Our version of the Poggio...after 10 years of waiting, I think we found a new training partner in the household to join @trailrunningmom and me...at least on the easy days. I'll take advantage now since in another 10 years, I'll be the one getting dropped. #horstspikes #cycling @islabikesusa #islabikes #teamhorstsports #boltonheritagefarm #bolton #Connecticut L to R: Places 2, 4, and 3 at the frigid  #BoltonRoadRace We had lots of fun. The best part is that I tower over the crew in this photo! #shenipsitstriders #silkcitystriders #teamhorstsports #railtrail #vernon #Connecticut @seven_cycles #sevencycles #teamhorstsports

Follow me on Twitter

Categories

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 270 other followers


