2017 Fat Tire Classic

Today I did the Root 66 Race Series Fat Tire Classic for the 10th time. My first Classic at Winding Trails in Farmington CT, was in 2000. It’s a fantastic venue. I’ve raced there 61 times since 1999. The races I’ve done include mountain biking, cyclocross, triathlon, and adventure racing. That’s pretty cool.

IMG_5150

Much appreciation goes out to Chris and Jill Logan, the Root 66 crew, and Jimena Florit and the folks at Winding Trails. The Team Horst Sports Junior Squad had five racers compete and our Masters Cycling Team had five racers compete. Debbie joined me to watch and hang out with the team. Our son finished the two-lap Cat 3 Junior race and he was thrilled. At 10 years-old, he is still learning how to ride, so today was definitely progress. Our daughter, who is seven, did the kids race. Debbie got to run around the nice trails.

IMG_5131

This was my first mountain bike race of the year. I just got my bike back after it was repaired by Seven Cycles. Two weeks ago today, I discovered that the top tube was cracked. I wrote a post all about the crack and the repair.

IMG_5152

My belt drivetrain is still giving me a little grief, but I was able to get through today’s race despite breaking my rear skewer. That happened mere minutes before the start when I was trying to add some tension to the belt. It’s unfortunate, but the team at Seven Cycles had to disassemble and rebuild the bike in order to fix the frame. That’s OK. I was just happy to be riding the bike today. Two weeks ago, the prospect of that looked grim.

IMG_5151

The course was run in reverse from prior years and I liked it. It was dry despite a lot of recent rain. There were only two muddy spots, and it was only enough to get a little spray in the face. I had a decent ride. 10 of us raced Cat 1 singlespeed. I got the hole shot, but dropped back a bit in the first section of technical singletrack. Charlie Beal, Kurt D’Anniello, and I battled for the first two laps, trading places before we settled in.

IMG_5149

Eventually Charlie dropped back a spot. Kurt and I continued to duke it out for the 4th spot in the field. I thought I had him, taking the lead after the start of the 4th and final five-mile lap. I got a small gap through the hilly and technical section, but he reeled me in about half way through the lap. I struggled on a technical uphill where we had to hop a log and my right quad started to cramp. I grunted hard, revealing my suffering.

IMG_5135

We exchanged a few words before he pulled away. I kept the gap manageable and then pulled him back at the base of the long Jeep road climb with about 1.5 miles to go. He hammered up the hill. I followed, standing up out of the saddle and rocking my bike back and forth. After only a few pedal strokes, both legs viciously cramped simultaneously. It was my adductors, which is kind of weird, but it was seriously painful. I sat back down and watched Kurt ride away. It took every ounce of energy I had left to pedal to the top without getting off.

I contained the damage and rode scared, worried that Charlie or someone else would catch me while I struggled to the finish. I made it to the line in 5th, which is fine. I had a blast, and the sunshine was glorious. It was fun to see Kurt after the finish and give him a congratulatory handshake for being a fierce competitor. Both of us will be happy if we can build our fitness to a peak this fall when cyclocross season (the main event!) comes around.

Now I have to focus on recovering. I’ve got a busy work week starting tomorrow and then a little bit of trail running next weekend.

Race Results (should be live soon)

0 Responses to “2017 Fat Tire Classic”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Horst Engineering

Thread Rolling Inc.

Sterling Machine

Horst Spikes

Instagram

Fir @john.meyerle because I neglected to post earlier: @supercross_cup This video is the Cat 4/5 Men. Great start for @the_ccap boys Nick and Johnny. #supercrosscx #teamhorstsports #teamhorstjuniorsquad #horstengineering #crossspikes @horsteng #cyclocross #lifedeathcyclocross Another great day at the @supercross_cup The #teamhorstjuniorsquad did great on the tricky and challenging course that was left muddy by overnight rain. The wind was fierce. The Junior 9-14 year olds did battle with the Category 4/5 Women. #teamhorstsports @vittoriaseries #supercrosscx #supercrosscup #horstengineering @horsteng #crossspikes #cyclocross Good morning from the windy @supercross_cup The overnight wind destroyed many a tent. It’s supposed to get windier. The rain has turned the course to muck. It’s going to be off-camber insanity. Myles Mattern is warming up for the Juniors 9-14 year old Race and showing how it’s done. Second video is the Cat 4/5 Men. Great start for @the_ccap boys Nick and Johnny. #supercrosscx #teamhorstsports #teamhorstjuniorsquad #horstengineering #crossspikes @horsteng #cyclocross #lifedeathcyclocross Suffering in Suffern!! @supercross_cup Day 1 #supercrosscup #supercrosscx #teamhorstsports #crossspikes #horstengineering @horsteng @vittoriaseries #teamhorstjuniorsquad ☔️🚴🏽 Another great day at the @nohocx Day was marginally warmer, but the racing was even more intense. Even the Cub Juniors were throwing down! #teamhorstjuniorsquad #teamhorstsports #crossspikes #horstengineering #cyclocross #lifedeathcyclocross #nohocx @lutzmuseum Children’s #Poetry Night. Little D wrote and recited. A welcome Friday night arts and culture moment before a (cold) weekend full of intense #cyclocross racing! #lutzmuseum 📚 🚲 So much radness at today’s Newtown #Cyclocross Steady drizzle turned the horse farm into a greasy challenge for everyone. The Cub Junior 9-12 year olds are always a highlight. My first of two big wipeouts left my nose wounded (again). I should start wearing a face mask. My @seven_cycles Mudhoney was a trusty steed! Good work @the_ccap #teamhorstsports #teamhorstjuniorsquad #crossspikes #horstengineering #newtowncx #lifedeathcyclocross 🚴🏽 🐎 Nothing like #cheshirecx Yesterday’s Cheshire Cross was a blast. #Cyclocross #hecklehill #teamhorstsports #teamhorstjuniorsquad #crossspikes #horstengineering #lifedeathcyclocross 🚴🏽💪🏻🍺 At last night’s @ctforestandparkassociation Volunteer Appreciation Dinner, 45 people were honored for working 100+ hours in the past year. Their cumulative total was more than 9,000 hours. Most are trail maintenance volunteers, but some were education volunteers (i.e. naturalists, trainers). It’s always worth pointing out that CFPA is a nonprofit organization and needs support to exist. The Blue-Blazed Hiking Trails wouldn’t exist without these folks. Thank you! #blueblazedtrail #ctwoodlands #cfpa #trails #trailrunning #hiking

Follow me on Twitter

Categories

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 285 other followers


