2017 Mother’s Day Dash

Today, I ran my 11th Mother’s Day Dash since 1999. My first “Dash” was run even before I met Debbie. This  year, it was a family affair, with Debbie and both of our children racing this classic 5K in Vernon/Rockville, Connecticut.

IMG_5469

11 races is a pretty good data set. The course has changed slightly, but it is still 3.1 miles. This year’s course was the same as last year.

Mother's Day Dash 5K Chart

Last year, I ran my fastest time (17:33) and this year (18:15), I ran my 5th fastest time. So, it was about the middle of my range which peaked (18:49) in 2007. That was a slow year!

IMG_5479

I’m happy with my run given the 39 degree Fahrenheit temperature and cold rain. The field wasn’t that fast, so I had no one to chase and no one to push me either. The Livingston’s did pretty well, coming away from the race with three medals, and four gift certificates.

IMG_5519

The star of the show was our 7-year-old, and she wasn’t even one of the award winners. She gets an award from Debbie and me for being “tough” and running on her own in grim conditions. After I finished, I donned a jacket and ran back to see her. She was just trucking along.

IMG_5523

The flat and fast course suited our 10-year-old son, and he is getting faster by the race. It was great to see some of our Shenipsit Striders friends. Tom Curtiss is a fixture at this event.

IMG_5491

Jessica Willis was our cheering gallery and she got some fun photos and videos. She was there to cheer on Matthew Davis, which was good fortune for us!

IMG_5503

We celebrated by eating lunch at a restaurant (Simply Thai) that we didn’t have a gift certificate for. That’s just how it goes.

IMG_5492

I know that Debbie loves running on Mother’s Day, and there is no better place to do it than at our former hometown race.

Race Results

0 Responses to “2017 Mother’s Day Dash”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Horst Engineering

Thread Rolling Inc.

Sterling Machine

Horst Spikes

Instagram

@bentwaterbrewing #bentwaterbrewing #pulpfiction #lynnlynnthecityofsin Overnight with @boyscoutsofamerica Troop 25 at the 4-H Camp in Pomfret. The toboggan run was hairy! I just watched. #boyscouts That moment when @trailrunningmom discovered that our longtime #Christmas Tree 🌲 supplier is a regular student in her #yoga class. They previously hadn’t recognized each other when not wearing #yogini gear. It was great to hear how our farmer has improved her strength and flexibility since she took over the business from her late husband. Note: preparing our menorah for #hannukah takes less work than this! Lovely December day for #Cyclocross at Goddard Park. @nbx_bikes #nbxcx @vittoriaseries #teamhorstsports #teamhorstjuniorsquad @horsteng #crossspikes #rhodeisland Lovely day for more than 130 #BoltonLandTrust members and friends at the annual Walk of #Thanksgiving #bolton #connecticut 🌲 #blackfriday didn’t start so badly! Great day at the #manchesterroadrace @shenipsitstriders #shenipsitstriders #silkcitystriders #teamhorstsports #thanksgiving 🏃🏻 If I always had the option to commute by train 🚂, I would take it. #multitasking 1h45m each way if uninterrupted productivity and NO driving. I even squeezed in a lap of #centralpark with Tim. 🏃🏻#manhattan #newyork Fir @john.meyerle because I neglected to post earlier: @supercross_cup This video is the Cat 4/5 Men. Great start for @the_ccap boys Nick and Johnny. #supercrosscx #teamhorstsports #teamhorstjuniorsquad #horstengineering #crossspikes @horsteng #cyclocross #lifedeathcyclocross

Follow me on Twitter

Categories

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 287 other followers


