2024 Northern Nipmuck Trail Race

The reincarnation of the Northern Nipmuck Trail Race continued today in Union, Connecticut. This is the third time Northern has been held after a 10 year hiatus. Debbie has run all three of the “comeback” races. I ran last year and again this year.

2024 was my 10th Northern start and 9th finish. I DNF’d my first one in 2002. That feels like a lifetime ago, but was only about a half a lifetime ago. Today’s race was one of the colder editions. I recall running the race with snow on the course. Today, there was no snow, but there was a fair amount of ice.

Yesterday, it rained more than three inches and then overnight, the temperature plunged into the low-20’s Fahrenheit. The thermometer read 24 at the start of the race and it was a brave decision to wear shorts. I did have calf socks. My legs remained warm, but my feet were cold. It was impossible to keep them dry and the water was frigid.

The sun was shining, but the Nipmuck Trail is shrouded in trees so it didn’t help as much as I would have liked. My best time was 15 years ago, but I’m learning to adjust my expectations. It’s about time that I let go of the notion that I’m going to run (or ride) faster than I did when I was in my 30’s and 40’s.

The 50+ phase I’m in is different in many ways. I’ve noticed my body change despite the fact that I remain very active. I have increased my focus on strength training because one of those changes I’ve noticed is the loss of muscle mass.

Today wasn’t a great day and I faded worse than planned, but it was great to be in the woods. My feet were uncomfortable, but so were everyone else’s. I ran about four minutes slower than last year. Debbie finished about 10 minutes behind me. I waited for her at the finish before walking back to the parking area in Bigelow Hollow State Park. In those 10 minutes, I turned into an icicle. That made for a painful and slow half mile walk back to the car.

Thank you to race director (and friend) Tony Bonanno and all of the Shenipsit Striders volunteers who have made this low key event a reality again. My current plan is for mid-distance trail running to be a bigger component 2024 so you will see me at many of the Blue-Blazed Trail Running Series races around Connecticut.

When we got home, the post-race shower was epic. This phase of my athletic career may have fewer epic race and more epic showers, and I’m good with that!

Race Results

Leave a comment